BAD CITY – Welcome To The Wasteland (2010)

Bad City have created a stir around the Chicago underground with their riff-crazy brand of old-school hard rock.
Signed by a major label, their debut album “Welcome To The Wasteland” is an electrifying introduction to the band’s idiosyncratic sound, riddled with glamtastic melodies, tasty hooks, and stadium-sized choruses.
This quintet will tickle your nostalgia bone with “Welcome to the Wasteland”.

Led by frontman Josh Caddy, Bad City received an impressive shout-out from Smashing Pumpkins leader Billy Corgan, who invited the group to be the opening act on his current tour.
On the strength of Welcome to the Wasteland, one might wonder what exactly drew Corgan to Bad City since they don’t play music that’s similar to the Pumpkins.
But with its allusions to Cheap Trick and Kiss, this record clearly hits Corgan’s sweet spot for anthem-heavy rock ‘n’ roll.
Also Paul Stanley from Kiss has talked about:
“Welcome To The Wasteland is an absolute knockout and the best album I’ve heard in ages.
A killer, cohesive album of great rock and bombastic production that has been sorely missing.

Every track is a winner and Bad City raises the bar out of most band’s reach. It’s really that good.”

Channeling everything from Queen to the pop-metal of ‘80s hair bands, Bad City write rock songs about rock songs, clearly targeting an audience that loves classic-rock radio and craves new tunes that sound exactly like the old ones.

“Showdown in Central Park” opens the album and immediately shows what Bad City is all about: soaring choruses, electrifying melodies, and songs made to blow out the speakers of arenas.
Even with the ballad “Fire in the Pouring Rain”, no intensity is lost.
Welcome to the Wasteland finally reaches its boiling point on “Look Out!”, a ferocious number with a hard-hitting hook that’s bound to become a fan favorite live.

A lot of credit needs to go to producer Johnny K (Disturbed, Sevendust).
His spot on production makes the record sound absolutely massive with every riff and hook.

01 – Showdown In Central Park
02 – Take Me For A Ride
03 – Do You Believe In Rock N Roll
04 – Wildlife
05 – Fire In The Pouring Rain
06 – Call Pall Stanley
07 – Heatwave
08 – Look Out!
09 – Touch
10 – Straight To The Grave

Josh Caddy – vocals
Tom Schleiter – guitar
Max Perenchio – guitar
Jake Serek – bass
Kevin Kane – drums

3 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Paul hit it exactly on the head…absolutley great frickin album all the way thru….Splash

  2. 0dayrock says:

    Dear clients,
    we re sorry but at the moment this file is not available for downloading due to software renovations.
    We guarantee it will become available after some period of time.
    Please try later.

  3. says:

    the link doesn't work!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.