STRYPER – The Covering (2011)

STRYPER - The Covering 2011

Heavy Metal has been associated with Beelzebub ever since its inception, but a few acts took the opposite route and put their Christian beliefs in hard rocking songs, such as STRYPER.

Formed in Orange County, CA, in 1983, the group was originally known as Roxx Regime, and consisted of singer/guitarist/main songwriter Michael Sweet, his brother drummer Robert Sweet, lead guitarist Oz Fox, and bassist Timothy Gaines.

It wasn’t until the group changed its name to Stryper (which stood for “Salvation Through Redemption Yielding Peace, Encouragement, and Righteousness”) that things really began taking off for the quartet.

Specializing in the melodic Van Halen / Kiss style (with heart-wrenching power ballads tossed in), dressed in all black-and-yellow outfits, and spreading their religious message even further by tossing bibles out into the crowd at their shows, Stryper were signed by a label with major distribution in 1984.

The same year, the group’s debut recording, a six-track mini-LP titled ‘The Yellow & Black Attack’, was issued.

The album created a buzz for the group among metalheads, which was only heightened with the release of the band’s first full-length album, 1985’s ‘Soldiers Under Command’.

The album ranked well on the Billboard charts, its success led to the re-release of ‘The Yellow & Black Attack’ (which included an extra two tracks and new artwork) in 1986.

Later the same year, Stryper issued their sophomore full-length, ‘To Hell with the Devil’, which many consider to be the group’s finest hour.

Turning out to be the highest-charting album of their career (barely missing the Top 30), the platinum-certified album benefited by MTVs repeated airings of the videos for ‘Calling on You’ and the syrupy ballad “Honestly” (the latter of which peaked at number 23 on the U.S. singles charts).

Despite possessing a different message than their peers, by this point Stryper fit in perfectly with the other popular hair metal bands of the day (Bon Jovi, White Lion, Dokken, etc.).

Yet just as it appeared that Stryper could possibly break through on a massive scale, such new metal styles as thrash (Metallica) and more stripped-down rock (Guns ‘N’ Roses) began to usurp Stryper’s pop-metal audience.

As a result, Stryper’s next release, 1988’s ‘In God We Trust’, failed to expand their following, nor did it live up to promise of its predecessor (although it did manage to earn gold certification).

Sensing this, the group adopted a harder-edged sound and look for 1990’s ‘Against The Law’, and even covered the Earth, Wind & Fire classic “Shining Star.”

Neither managed to cross over to the top of the charts.

A greatest-hits set, ‘Can’t Stop the Rock’, followed in 1991, but with Nirvana just about to ring the death knell for pop-metal bands, Michael Sweet decided to leave the group for a solo career.

Surprisingly, the remaining members of Stryper opted to carry on as a three-piece (with Fox handling lead vocal duties), and continued to tour for a spell.

The Michael Sweet-less version didn’t last long however, as Stryper officially called it quits in 1992.

In the wake of their split, its members remained busy.

Michael Sweet’s solo career never scaled the same heights as Stryper’s, although solo releases appeared on a somewhat regular basis, with 1994’s ‘Michael Sweet’, 1995’s ‘Real’, and 2001’s ‘Truth’.

Robert Sweet issued a solo recording, ‘Love Trash’, in addition to studio work, while Fox and Gaines formed a new group, Sin Dizzy, who issued a rock opera (concerning the crucifixion of Jesus Christ), titled ‘He’s Not Dead’.

During the intervening years, a large core of devoted fans remained intact, resulting in all of Stryper’s albums being reissued.

In 1999, Sin Dizzy played a show with Michael Sweet, which ended in an off-the-cuff jam session of old Stryper tunes — resulting in reunion rumors.

And with a heightened nostalgic interest regarding ’80s-era metal bands during the early 21st century, Stryper agreed to sporadically reunite for a “Stryper Expo,” which has since turned into an annual event.

Stryper’s second greatest-hits collection, ‘7: The Best of Stryper’, was released in 2003, and included a pair of new tunes recorded especially for the collection, “Something” and “For You.”

Fueled by a renewed interest in the Christian rock scene, the band returned to the studio for 2005’s ‘Reborn’ and again in 2009 for ‘Murder by Pride’, the latter released in celebration of the band’s 25th anniversary.

STRYPER have set “The Covering” as the title of their new album, consisting of classic hard rock covers, to be released in February, 2011.

The CD features the band’s original lineup of Michael Sweet on vocals, Robert Sweet on drums, Oz Fox on guitar and Timothy Gaines on bass, including STRYPER’s rendition of the classics: “Breaking The Law” (JUDAS PRIEST), “Shout It Out Loud” (KISS), “Heaven And Hell” (BLACK SABBATH), “Highway Star” (DEEP PURPLE), among others.

The band never denied their admiration for secular bands, and although they have changed some lyrics, the versions of these classics remain faithful to the originals.

The production on “Heaven And Hell” is the best Stryper have done to date. Clean separation of instruments.

Robert’s Drums sound like you’re sitting on the drummer’s throne with him. Cymbals, snare, kick and toms sounds big and “live”.

Tim’s Bass guitar is tight and punchy. The guitars are crisp and biting, and the solos perfectly crafted.

And the best of all, Michael Sweet’s voice is in top form.

This isn’t another cash-in covers/tribute album, as these songs really get new life in Stryper’s hands.


1. Set Me Free (Sweet)

2. Blackout (Scorpions)

3. Heaven And Hell (Black Sabbath)

4. Lights Out (UFO)

5. Carry On Wayward Son (Kansas)

6. Highway Star (Deep Purple)

7. Shout It Out Loud (Kiss)

8. Over The Mountain (Ozzy Osbourne)

9. The Trooper (Iron Maiden)

10. Breaking The Law (Judas Priest)

11. On Fire (Van Halen)

12. Immigrant Song (Led Zeppelin)

13. God (Stryper New Track 2010)

Michael Sweet – Vocals

Robert Sweet – Drums

Oz Fox – Guitars

Timothy Gaines – Bass


You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:


  2. Anonymous says:

    great review

  3. Anonymous says:

    Awesome versions – Thx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.