N0LOVELOST – N0LoveLost (2011)


Who are these guys from N0LoveLost and where they’ve been ’till now?
Hailing from Winston Salem, NC, N0LoveLost was formed in 2006. All members are veteran musicians of the east coast circuit.
Vocalist Scott Board began his career with Cerebus, a North Carolina metal group that garnered national attention with their album ‘Too Late To Pray’.
In the early ’90s, Board, along with Jason Staton, Brian Azbell and Russell Kahle were members of Dimage, recording the album ‘It Takes Time’. Jeff Brooks, a former member of circuit favorites Zak and Sequence, was brought in to add keyboards, additional guitars and background vocals.

N0LoveLost plays Melodic Hard Rock, although not sounding as your typical band of the genre. Yes, the big guitars, melodies and choruses are there, but they add to the music extra ingredients.
The rhythm section has a dry, compressed sound, adding some synth bass which makes it different from the rest. They arrange the terrific vocal harmonies in an original way, and Scott Board lead vocals escapes from the usual cliché.

Every song on this CD reflects a wide range of 80’s and 90’s influences, but as said, N0LoveLost has their own style and sound. And quite original for sure.
Opener “(Eternal) Miles Apart” perhaps is the most traditional in stylings, with an earlier eighties melodious vibe and even some pomp, all with a modern production.
“Another Bad Goodbye” is driven by a strong riff and a chorus crowned by very good vocal harmonies that reminds me C.I.T.A. / Guild Of Ages, followed by the semi-midtempo “Sign Of The Times” featuring a quirky guitar work and an accomplished vocal performance by Board.
The faster “Back On The Streets” is pretty eighties, blending some UK’s influences of that era with Queensryche circa Rage for Order. In fact, Scott Board’s vocals reminds me Geoff Tate many times on this recording, just with a more melodic timbre. A great track with a pumping bass line and fine drumming.

They go to the nineties with”L.I.E. In Ecstacy”, a heavy rocker in the vein of Lynch Mob, while on the slowly, atmospheric “Grounded” the band adds some acoustics and Queensryche comes to mind again. Very, very well composed track with solid harmonies.
“Skin And Bone” is a dark hard rocker with a classic riff. This song, structurally and sonically seems taken out of George Lynch’s stupendous album Sacred Groove. Of course the guitars shine here, also the excellent drum fills and the roaring vocals.
The golden days of Winger are revived on “Desiree”, one of my favorites on this really good CD. Great melodies and harmony vocals here, plus a stylized six-string solo.

“Closer To Home” is somehow a ballad, but it’s much more than that. The band blends a classic sweet melody with a progressive arrangement resulting in an original and innovative composition.
“Little Things” is a nineties melodic rocker full of melody. Connoisseurs surely will remember the great band Stun Leer from that era. Well, this track recalls their style, with a simply irresistible pre-chorus and ‘that’ drums. A winner.
“Friend Of Pain” closes the album in great form. It’s a dark hard rocker with a Winger’s ‘Pull’ infatuation all over. Love it.

Coming out of nowhere, almost with no promotion, greatly produced and released by themselves, N0LoveLost has delivered an original, splendid Melodic Hard Rock album.
“N0LoveLost” hit the streets on November, 2011. Support this fabulous indie band, they deserve a world-wide recognition for this truly good self-managed release.
As Bill Leverty from Firehouse said: “WOW, what a great CD !! – Well done guys”.

You’ve seen it first here, at zerodayrock

01 – (Eternal) Miles Apart
02 – Another Bad Goodbye
03 – Sign Of The Times
04 – Back On The Streets
05 – ”L.I.E.” In Ecstacy
06 – Grounded
07 – Skin And Bone
08 – Break
09 – Desiree’
10 – Closer To Home
11 – Little Things
12 – Catch Me Carrie
13 – Friend Of Pain

Scott Board – Lead Vocals
Jason Staton – Guitar, Vocals
Jeff Brooks – Keyboards, Guitar, Vocals
Russ Kahle – Bass
Brian Azbell – Drums, Vocals


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.