SAGA – 20/20 (2012)

SAGA - 20/20 (2012)


In the very beginning 2011 it was officially announced that Michael Sadler had returned as the lead vocalist of SAGA and that there were plans for the recording of a brand-new studio album the same year.

It took much more time, and although this February drummer Brian Doerner (ex Helix) left the band, the good news is that the new album, called “20/20”, is now finally ready for release.

‘The Human Condition’, the only Saga studio album which featured Rob Moratti on vocals was a very good disc, but it’s obvious that Saga wasn’t the same band as before.

In light of their silver anniversary, with “20/20” we have classic, original Saga back again and in top-notch form I’d say.

The album title refers to the CD being Saga’s 20th, but in addition it’s also a good luck wish to keyboardist Jim Gilmour who had to undergo an eye operation during the latest European tour (and 20/20 stands for the perfect eyesight).

Counting 10 brand new tracks, that typical Saga sound and feel is here again from start to finish. All fans of the band will leap for joy with the end result.

Although the whole album is a pleasure listening to, I would mention the ultra-catchy “Anywhere You Wanna Go” and the wonderful ballad “Lost For Words” as the highlights.

Michael Sadler on his return to the band: “One thing that we agreed on, was that if and when I ever were to return, it would have to feel like it was exactly the right thing to do and exactly the right time to do it!”.

“20/20” marks the return of classic Saga with their original core force.

Ian Crichton’s razor-sharp guitar riffs, Jim Gilmour’s complex keyboard arrangements and Michael Sadler’s brilliant voice have always been the signatures of their sound, and “20/20” has it all in abundance.

They are playing to their own strengths and deliver one of their better albums ever. Not in the same league as their first four recordings, but they will forever be unbeatable playing this brand of melodic rock / prog / hard.

The album comes as a standard CD and as a special digipak edition containing a bonus DVD featuring footage of the recording sessions.

Following the new release, the band will tour in Canada, the US, Europe and South America. Don’t miss them live, the place where this band really excels.

Meanwhile, enjoy this really good album.

Welcome back Michael.

01 – Six Feet Under

02 – Anywhere You Wanna Go

03 – Ellery

04 – Spin It Again

05 – Another Day Out Of Sight

06 – One Of These Days

07 – Ball And Chain

08 – Lost For Words

09 – Show And Tell

10 – Till The Well Runs Dry

Michael Sadler: vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards

Ian Crichton: guitars

Jim Gilmour: keyboards, vocals, clarinet, harmonica

Jim Crichton: bass, keyboards

Brian Doerner: drums, backing vocals

Mike Thorne: drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.