HEAVEN’S BASEMENT – Filthy Empire (2013)

HEAVEN'S BASEMENT - Filthy Empire (2013) mp3 download



HEAVEN’S BASEMENT, one of the most promising UK Hard Rock acts finally release their debut tomorrow.

The band’s first EP was amongst the favorites of this site in 2011 with its blend of Thunder, Pink Cream 69, Skid Row, an equal amount of Motley Crue, Crazy Lixx and a dash of the very early Guns ‘N Roses.

Now the guys, who have been endlessly touring North America, aims to follow that up with the 12-song scorcher that is “Filthy Empire”, the new CD.

“Filthy Empire” was produced by John Feldmann, whose production credits include him working with bands such as Papa Roach and Black Veil Brides. It’s Heaven’s Basement turning modern alt metal? Fortunately, not at all.

The full length debut from the guys is a bold, hard-hitting album full of anthem-style choruses, mixing the best of the ‘80s and ‘90s hard rock scene with today’s modern metal sounds. Production is more updated and thick than on their awesome EP, but Heaven’s Basement essence is still here, furious than ever.

The riffs are heavy enough right out of the gate to warrant your immediate attention while Aaron Buchanan’s vocals ice the cake early and often. His vocals are slightly gravelly than before given to the songs a more aggressive punch.

“Welcome Home” comes barking out of the speakers with all the rabid intent of a possessed dog with ambitions to kill. A big track that immediately will put your views of them just going through the motions firmly into place.

“Fire, Fire” rolls up and takes its place immediately in your head – these boys are not here to gently slide into your affections, they’re going for a sledgehammer to your heart. Big sound, big crunching riffs, big vocals and, quite simply, a great song.

Follower “Nothing Left To Lose” is somehow of a let down for my ‘classic’ ears: less Skid Row and more Fall Out Boy. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a really well crafted track with a terrific impact, but as it will be the single to sell the album through American radio, this is a modern sounding rock song. Completely justified if you ask me, as they needed a cut like this one.

But things get back to the real Heaven’s Basement with the catchy chorus of “Lights Out In London” and never lose the grip through the rest of the disc.

“I Am Electric” brings the frantic pace right back up and if you don’t get moved to get out your bored life and see this band live, I’d be amazed – The Cult with anger issues could sum this little ditty up; brilliant. This song is more in your face than the rest of the tracks on here. It grabs you around the neck to wrestle you to the ground with ferocity that you wouldn’t expect from a band of this ilk.

“Heartbreaking Son Of A Bitch” is a blistering barn burner, while “Can’t Let Go” is another Skid Row-styled basic rocker that keeps the flow of the album ticking along nicely indeed.

“The Price We Pay” is the one track where they strip everything back and go acoustic to reveal a side that stands out as equally as their bombast; classic ballad without trying to be anything else makes a nice refreshing change.

Then “Jump Back” has an almost Rolling Stones vibe running throughout – not easy to pull off for anybody and the soulful vibe is a welcome addition.

“Executioners Day” rounds off the album and one of my favorites. It’s an old track from their earlier EP, now revitalized by the bigger, meaty production.

“Filthy Empire” shows Heaven’s Basement can ‘rawk’ with the best them. The tracks on this disc are finely crafted excursions into the realm of rock.

If you want lightweight feelings or relaxing rock don’t bother listening this scorcher. This is pure energy, a blistering attack to your ears.

Some may find the riffs too abrasive or the vocals as too loud… I can’t remember Sebastian Bach restraining himself from a big note, can you? Heaven’s Basement kicks you with no remorse.

If you want a band trying to prove their worth, trying to grab you by the scruff of the neck and simply trying to rock hard then you’d be foolish not to try and enter their “Filthy Empire”.


01 – Welcome Home

02 – Fire, Fire

03 – Nothing Left To Lose

04 – Lights Out In London

05 – I Am Electric

06 – The Long Goodbye

07 – Heartbreaking Son Of A Bitch

08 – Be Somebody

09 – Can’t Let Go

10 – The Price We Pay

11 – Jump Back

12 – Executioner’s Day

Aaron Buchanan – Vocals

Sid Glover – Guitars, Backing Vocals

Rob Ellershaw – Bass, Backing Vocals

Chris Rivers – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.