STYX – Caught In The Act Live [Japanese remaster SHM-CD Limited Edition]

STYX - Caught In The Act Live [Japanese remaster SHM-CD Limited Edition] full

Continuing with the Japanese nine-album cardboard sleeve (mini LP) reissue series of STYX on high quality SHM-CD, here’s the underrated “Caught In The Act“.
All these were released a couple years ago, but it was a Limited Edition and already turned out of print.

Styx released their first live album, the 2-disc “Caught In The Act” recorded (and filmed) in April of 1983 on the band’s Kilroy Was Here tour at the Saenger Theater in New Orleans, Louisiana.
The album leads off with the new studio track “Music Time”, which was a US charting hit peaking at #40 in the Spring of 1984 yet doesn’t appear on either Greatest Hits 1 or 2 or the Come Sail Away Anthology, so you will have to get the track here only.

STYX - Caught In The Act Live [Japanese remaster SHM-CD Limited Edition] gatefold

The concert kicks off with “Mr. Roboto” which features Dennis DeYoung acting out and singing the song with a real live vibe than the heavily processed vocals on the studio version.
The double LP album has songs that are not on the video/DVD; mega-hit “Babe”, a spirited “Suite Madame Blue”, “Miss America”, “Fooling Yourself” and “Crystal Ball”.
Other highlights on this album are the live takes of “Snowblind”, “Blue Collar Man” or “Don’t Let it End” and “Rockin the Paradise” – in my opinion, both better than the studio versions.

STYX - Caught In The Act Live [Japanese remaster SHM-CD Limited Edition] back

“Caught In The Act” reached the US Top 40, and was the last album from Styx’s classic lineup. It’s not just another live album, as many of the songs are quite different from the originals, and some, better performed.
I don’t know if it’s me, but my original vinyl and the CD version never sounded good. This Japanese cardboard sleeve (mini LP) reissues on SHM-CD sounds much better, ‘energized’ I’d say.
All these Styx 9-album reissue are out of print, and worth the hunt for a remaining copy.
Highly Recommended.


Universal Japan ~ | SHM-CD | UICY-93926/7

CD 1:
01 – Music Time (new studio track)
02 – Mr. Roboto
03 – Too much time on my Hands
04 – Babe
05 – Snowblind
06 – The best of Times
07 – Suite Madame Blue

CD 2:
01 – Rockin’ the Paradise
02 – Blue Collar Man
03 – Miss America
04 – Don’t Let It End
05 – Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)
06 – Crystal Ball
07 – Come Sail Away

Dennis DeYoung – keyboards, vocals
Chuck Panozzo – bass, vocals
John Panozzo – drums, percussion, vocals
Tommy Shaw – guitars, vocals
James Young – guitars, synthesizer, vocals


Try Here:

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Joe says:

    Link is broken? I clicked on the link in Adfly and it didn’t work. Said “Server not found”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.