CONFESS – Haunters [European Edition +2] (2017)

CONFESS - Haunters (2017) full

Finally, after three long years Swedish rockers CONFESS will be releasing their long-awaited new album entitled “Haunters” on March 1, 2017. Mixing Sleaze with Melodic Hard rock in a Scandinavian fashion, Confess’ previous album was one of this blog’s pick of the year.
Well, “Haunters” is even better, showcasing a mature songwriting and some killer musicianship.

Formed in 2008, Confess are part of the new wave of Swedish sleaze commanded by Crashdiet, but these guys are much more melodic, clean, polished than the gritty sleaze of Crashdiet, recalling Shotgun Messiah second commercial era.
On the other hand, Confess injects into their songs a strong sense of musicality and catchy (harmonized) choruses in the vein of the first Crazy Lixx and a polished production similar to Hardcore Superstar.

“Haunters”, indeed, is much melodic hard rock than sleaze, and believe me, it rocks.
You got more metallic rockers such as ‘Strange Kind of Affection’ (think a mix of Motley Crue & Skid Row), the Dokken meets Wasp “We Are the Rats”, and the punchy ‘Animal Attraction’, all balanced by awesome midtempo rockers such as ‘Stand Our Ground’, a terrific tune driven by a solid melody with big production and huge gang vocals, or the highly melodic ‘Haunting You’, a sure hit in 1989.

‘Talia’ adds some electronics and synths at the beginning, then it turns Def Leppard / Hysteria era with monster verses and a catchy chorus that Mutt Lange would be proud of.
‘How Could I Let You Go’ is a superb ballad with a great atmosphere, and ‘Lady of Night’ is simply awesome with its, again, Def Leppard feel, but this time circa 1982.

CONFESS - Haunters (2017) inside

‘Tonight’ is short ballad only surrounded by synths (brings to mind early ’90s Europe), then ‘Let the Show Go On’ is all feel-good melodic rock with that ’80s magic.
The last two tracks, European bonuses, are cool but perhaps were not necessary, both covers from songs that influenced Confess’ origins.

“Haunters” is one of the best melodic hard rock albums spiced with sleaze I heard in a long time.
Confess are ready to explode into the major leagues with “Haunters”: killer songs, the guys are playing better than ever (there’s a new guitarist and bass player) and production is huge, polished, like it used to be circa 1987.
An album to be included into my ‘best of the year list’ for sure.
HIGHLY Recommended

01. Irony
02. Strange Kind of Affection
03. Stand Our Ground
04. We Are the Rats
05. Haunting You
06. Talia
07. How Could I Let You Go
08. Animal Attraction
09. I Won’t Die
10. Lady of Night
11. Tonight
12. Let the Show Go On
13. Eye to Eye
14. Vittring

John Elliot – Vox
Samael – Drums
Blomman – Guitar
Van Noice – Bass
Richie – Guitar


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.