VOODOO CIRCLE – Raised On Rock [digipak +2] (2018)

VOODOO CIRCLE - Raised On Rock [digipak +2] (2018) full

Beginning of February – 9th – is in important day for VOODOO CIRCLE founder Alex Beyrodt and bandmates; fifth album “Raised On Rock” will be released worldwide.
The band found with Herbie Langhans a new singer which had a refreshing impact since it provided Beyrodt with new opportunities when it comes to songwriting.

Beyrodt is a restless mind, always on a journey through rock and metal. His hunger for heavy metal will be satisfied by Primal Fear where he handles the six-string in a perfect fashion. Next to that he is part of ‘Rock meets Classic’ and quite some other projects.
And if this would not be enough, Beyrodt also has his own band, Voodoo Circle, a power outfit that shows the guitarist‘s passion for classic hard rock a la Rainbow, Whitesnake…

As expected, melodies are in focus on the new album with ‘Just Take My Heart’being an excellent start into the new CD. The very rhythm-based track contains everything Voodoo Circle stands for – catchiness, a classic rock vibe, hardness and melodies you don‘t get out of your mind that easily.
Thereby ‘Just Take My Heart’ stands for a good example for what to expect from Voodoo Circle‘s newest strike.

‘Higher Love’ emphasis the catchiness even further, before ‘Running Away From Love’ shows the band‘s passion for acts like Whitesnake, a fact that becomes even more obvious with the ballad ‘Where is the World We Love’. It‘s a great song that would have been a radio hit in 1987.
‘Ultimate Sin’ is next in line and it‘s not an Ozzy cover version. It‘s an uptempo hard rock song with excellent guitar work by Beyrodt and great vocals by Langhans. His harsher voice fits perfect to this hard rocking tune that belongs to the best ones on the album.

VOODOO CIRCLE - Raised On Rock [digipak +2] (2018) back

In case you‘re looking for some soulful moments you should listen to ‘Chase Me Away’. It‘s another half ballad / midtempo, this time more related to 1985 Deep Purple, or 1983 Rainbow I’d say.
The closer of Voodoo Circle’s new longplayer is entitled ‘Dreamchaser’ and it’s a killer ending. The song reminds of Rainbow without using Blackmore and Co. as a blueprint. It‘s more a Voodoo Cricle interpretation of a sound that revolutionized rock music in the late Seventies.
Highly Recommneded

01 – Running Away from Love
02 – Higher Love
03 – Walk on the Line
04 – You Promised Me Heaven
05 – Just Take My Heart
06 – Where Is the World We Love
07 – Ultimate Sin
08 – Chase Me Away
09 – Unknown Stranger
10 – DreamcHaser
11 – Love Is an Ocean
Digipack Bonus Tracks:
12 – Time for the Innocent
13 – There’s More to See

Alex Beyrodt (guitar)
Mat Sinner (bass)
Francesco Jovino (drums)
Herbie Langhans (vocals)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.