DAKOTA – Looking Back [The Anthology] (remastered / accurate rip)

BLACK ACES - Shot In The Dark [European CD version +3] (2016) full

DAKOTA is one of the seminal American AOR acts. This 2016 reissued 2CD Looking Back [The Anthology]” is a perfect compendium of their entire discography, with a revised sound by the band’s founder members.

Created in 1980 by Bill Kelly and Jerry Hludzik from the ashes of ‘The Jerry-Kelly Band’, they have recorded a bunch of excellent albums, with the band’s 2nd ‘Runaway’ (1984) still being one of my all-time favorites in the genre.

Dakota’s blend of Classy AOR and refined West Coast touches is filled with big hooklines, fluffy keyboards and harmony vocals to die for. Later the group also developed a a strong melodic hard rock sound with an updated sound yet retaining the ’80s feel.

Dakota experienced many line-up changes, besides, high class session musicians were part of their studio recordings, such as Richie Zito (Bad English, Heart), Paul Jackson (Pages, David Foster), bassist Neil Stubenhaus (Robin Beck, Steve Lukather), Chicago singer Bill Champlin, Toto keyboardist Steve Porcaro and many more.

Simply put; if you like Classic, pure AOR of the best lineage, “Looking Back [The Anthology]” is a Must Have.


CD 1
01 – Runaway
02 – Crazy For Your Love
03 – Brothers In Arms
04 – Last Standing Man
05 – Mr. Lucky
06 – Prelude To Victories
07 – Little Victories
08 – Holdin’ Your Own
09 – Brother To Brother
10 – Hot Nights
11 – When The Rebel Comes Home
12 – You Can’t Live Without It
13 – Over In A Minute
14 – What Were You Thinkin’
15 – The Deep
16 – Don’t Count Me Out

CD 2
01 – If It Takes All Night
02 – Mama Teach
03 – Angry Men
04 – Next In Line
05 – Right This Minute
06 – Only Game In Town
07 – Not So Much In Love
08 – Back To Me
09 – Into The Night
10 – Heroes
11 – Run With The Wind
12 – Hearts On Fire
13 – Somebody’s Hero
14 – Wish
15 – Go Easy On My Heart

Jerry G. Hludzik – vocals, guitars
Bill Kelly – vocals, guitars
Rick Manwiller – keyboards, programming, backing vocals
Louie Cossa, Jeff Mitchell – keyboards
Bill McHale, Neil Stubenhaus, Bill McHale – bass
John Robinson, Danny Seraphine, Eli M.Hludzik – drums
Jon Lorance, Eric Kudy, Nat Gardner – guitar

Bill Champlin – backing vocals
Steve Porcaro – additional guitars
Chris Pinnick – additional guitars
Richie Zito – additional guitars
Paul Jackson Jr. – additional guitars
David Hawk Wolinski – additional guitars
Jeff Mitchell – electric piano
Tony Romano – drums
and more



You may also like...

6 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Awesome band and great compilation.
    Thanks for the info about this release, gotta buy it.


  2. Tom says:

    Can you repost? Thanks!

  3. Can you repost ?
    Thanks and greetings from Central District (=Hong Kong)

  4. Wooow. thanks so much for follow up/

    Kindest regards from Hong Kong, Central District

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.