DEF LEPPARD – The Lost Session (2018)

DEF LEPPARD - The Lost Session (2018) full

DEF LEPPARD have released a previously unreleased EP called “The Lost Session“, exclusively available on iTunes. The reason for this is that “The Lost Session” was actually recorded back in 2006 specifically for iTunes but a long running dispute between the band and Universal Records over digital royalties has seen the band refuse to allow any music of theirs on to the streaming network. Including this “The Lost Session” recording.

The long dispute over digital music rights with Universal Records has ended now though. Rick Allen, Def Leppard’s drummer, confirmed as much recently while talking to CNBC News in New York. Apparently the label have finally offered satisfactory pricing and so all of Def Leppard’s extensive back catalogue is now available.
On top of that, these exclusively recorded songs are now available to the general public. Well, the Apple using public at least.

“The Lost Session” has 6 tracks on it. It includes live studio versions of ‘Let It Go’, ‘Rock On’, ‘Foolin”, ‘Promises’, ‘When Love & Hate Collide’ and ‘Bringin’ On the Heartbreak’.
As mentioned by guitarist Phil Collen in 2006 who said they had recorded tracks for iTunes but which were never released – until now.
All songs were recorded at an unknown studio in the USA during the ‘YEAH!’ tour.

As with a lot of Def Leppard’s songs, they are infectious, catchy tracks that get hooked in your mind and bring a smile to your face.
There isn’t much else to say – we probably all know all or most of the songs and they are fun to listen to, even after all this time.
While recorded ‘live’ (all together playing in the same room), that’s was into the studio, so the sound quality / mix is great.

There’s slightly different arrangements on ‘Let It Go’ (originally from High ‘n’ Dry), ‘Foolin’ (from Pyromania) and ‘Promises’ (from Euphoria), while ‘When Love and Hate Collide’ and ‘Bringin’ on the Heartbreak’ are performed in its ‘electric versions’.

The band had become known as one of the last artists holding out against Streaming services.
Now all the original 15 studio Def Leppard albums have been made available to stream and buy digitally for the first time, including the Deluxe Editions and ‘Vault’.

DEF LEPPARD - Re-Recordings 2012-2013

On the other hand, the only Def Leppard songs previously available digitally – the three re-recordings from 2012 and 2013 of ‘Pour Some Sugar On Me (re-recorded 2012)’, ‘Rock Of Ages (re-recorded 2012)’ and ‘Hysteria (re-recorded 2013)’, were removed from digital platforms forever.
So these are colletor’s items now, included here as bonus, plus the rare ‘Acoustic Medley 2012 [iTunes exclusive]’ which seems deleted as well.

Only at 0dayrox

01 – Let It Go (Studio live 2006 – from High ‘n’ Dry)
02 – Rock On (Studio live 2006 – from Yeah!)
03 – Foolin’ (Studio live 2006 – from Pyromania)
04 – Promises (Studio live 2006 – from Euphoria)
05 – When Love and Hate Collide (Studio live 2006 – from Vault)
06 – Bringin’ on the Heartbreak (Studio live 2006 – from High ‘n’ Dry)
BONUS (Not available anymore):
07 – Pour Some Sugar On Me (re-recorded 2012)
08 – Rock Of Ages (re-recorded 2012)
09 – Hysteria (re-recorded 2013)
10 – Acoustic Medley 2012 [iTunes exclusive]

Joe Elliott – vocals, all instruments
Phil Collen – vocals, all instruments
Vivian Campbell – guitar, backing vocals
Rick Savage – vocals, all instruments
Rick Allen – drums, percussion


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.