ROBIN BECK – Trouble Or Nothing (20th Anniversary Edition +4)

ROBIN BECK - Trouble Or Nothing (20th Anniversary Edition +4) full

Requested on this blog, this is ROBIN BECK‘s “Trouble Or Nothing (20th Anniversary Edition +4)“, a re-recording of the vocalist classic ’80s album plus 4 new songs.
The original “Trouble Or Nothing” tapes still belongs to the record company, so Robin and husband James Christian (House Of Lords) with the help of talented Swede Tommy Denander (guitars and co-production) decided to make a new, own version of the album.

As an ’80s AOR fan, you already know these melodic tunes. Here they are quite faithful to the originals, but with some edge on the guitars and that melodious sound from the Melodic Rock productions of this new Millenium.
You have the timeless hits ‘First Time’, ‘Save Up All Your Tears’, and ‘If You Were A Women and I Was A Man’ – written by Desmond Child and which is the original version of Bon Jovi ’80s hit You Give Love A Bad Name’.

There’s a modern version of ‘In a Crazy World Like This’ (co-written by i-TEN’s Tom Kelly / Billy Steinberg and recorded by Pat Benatar), ‘Don’t Lose Any Sleep” (penned by Diane Warren and made famous by John Waite) and ‘Hide Your Heart’ (Desmond Child, Holly Knight, Paul Stanley) also recorded by Bonnie Tyler and Kiss as well.

As said, “Trouble Or Nothing (20th Anniversary Edition +4)” was re-recorded with Tommy Denander on guitar but also Jimi Bell (guitar), BJ Zampa (drums) and James Christian, all from UK’s melodic rockers House Of Lords.
So this is basically Robin Beck on vocals with House Of Lords as back up band.

ROBIN BECK - Trouble Or Nothing (20th Anniversary Edition +4) back

The release also includes 4 new tracks: the rocker ‘Love is Divine’ (which bring to mind Denander’s band RadioActive), the sweet ballad ‘Lost Summer Days’ with a typical ’80s feel, the edgier ‘Superstar’, and midtempo melodic rocker ‘Changed For Good’. All worthwhile songs.
Robin Beck is in top form all over the recording, and I like the fact her voice is not over-sized in the mix, this re-recording sounds & feel like a real band.
Highly Recommended

01 – Hide Your Heart
02 – Don’t Lose Any Sleep
03 – If You Were A Women and I Was A Man
04 – Hold Back the Night
05 – Save Up All Your Tears
06 – In a Crazy World Like This
07 – Tears in the Rain
08 – A Heart For You
09 – Sleeping With the Enemy
10 – First Time
20th Anniversary Edition Additional Tracks:
11 – Love is Divine
12 – Lost Summer Days
13 – Superstar
14 – Changed For Good

Robin Beck – vocals
Tommy Denander – guitar, bass
Jimi Bell (House Of Lords) – guitar
Jeff Bater – keyboards
BJ Zampa (House Of Lords), JJ Jamal – drums
James Christian (House Of Lords) – backing and harmony vocals


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.