CARMINE APPICE – Guitar Zeus [Remastered + 5 New Songs] (2019)

CARMINE APPICE - Guitar Zeus [Remastered + 5 New Songs] (2019) full HERE

Legendary drummer Carmine Appice is re-releasing his GUITAR ZEUS project, digitally remastered plus 5 previously unreleased songs. Featuring a who’s who list of the best and world-renowned guitarists on the planet, backed by his core band featuring Tony Franklin (The Firm, Blue Murder) on bass, Kelly Keeling (M.S.G) on vocals / keys / rhythm guitar, and Appice (drums, vocals) which wrote and performed these well-crafted, timeless melodic hard rock songs.

Originally released as two separate albums in 1995 & 1997, this new remastered album by Stephen DeAcutis (Vanilla Fudge, Corey Glover, Overkill, Cyndi Lauper) combines both releases as one complete version, as well as feature 5 brand new songs with Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, Pat Travers, John Norum, and top Japanese guitarists RaiZi and Char.
Selected songs will also be available on a special limited-edition vinyl and CD.

Carmine Appice’s Guitar Zeus showcases the complete and prolific talents of many world-renown rock guitarists including Brian May, Slash, Neal Schon, Yngwie Malmsteen, Bruce Kulick, Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, Paul Gilbert, Mick Mars, Richie Sambora, Zakk Wylde, Bob Daisley, Dweezil Zappa, Vivian Campbell, Leslie West, Warren DeMartini, Steve Morse, Ty Tabor (Kings X), Ted Nugent, Dug Pinnick, John Norum and others…

Carmine said; “The Guitar Zeus” project, for me, was an amazing experience that has never been done before by a drummer, especially with so much talent on one album! You get your money’s worth! Writing all the songs with my band (Tony & Kelly) and then picking out songs for each guitarist was a fun and time-consuming process, especially coordinating everybody’s schedules and recording sessions.”

While this is a guitar-driven material, the focus is put on the ‘song’. Of course you have awesome swirling guitar solos and each guest gets plenty of space to show what they can do with a guitar, however have a focus on songs and melody, lyrics and feeling.

The guitar playing on the album is fantastic and particular favorites with me are Paul Gilbert’s blistering scattergun solos on ‘Dislocated’, Jennifer Batten’s almost free-form funk noodling on instrumental ‘Guitar Zeus – Part 1’, Zakk Wylde kills on ‘Code 19’, as well as Slash on ‘Where You Belong’.

CARMINE APPICE - Guitar Zeus [Remastered + 5 New Songs] (2019) inside

Among the new, previously unheard songs, ‘Couldn’t Be Better’ features Japanese guitarist RaiZi, new to me but amazing on the 6-strings, while there’s always a pleasure listen to anything involving John Norum (Europe), so you need to check the song ”Nothing’.

“Guitar Zeus [Remastered + 5 New Songs]” is killer stuff, with a refreshed / remastered sound plus new tracks to enjoy. All timeless, quality melodic / hard rock.
HIGHLY recommended

01 – Mothers Space (feat. Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal) +
02 – Gonna Rain (feat. Richie Sambora)
03 – 4 Miles High (feat. Steve Morse)
04 – Nobody Knew (feat. Brian May)
05 – Where You Belong (feat. Slash)
06 – Out of Mind (feat. Neal Schon)
07 – This Time Around (feat. Y. Malmsteen & Dug Pinnick)
08 – Nothing (feat. John Norum) +
09 – Doin’ Fine (feat Vivian Campbell)
10 – Under the Moon and Sun (feat. Mick Mars, Edgar Winter)
11 – Code 19 (feat. Zakk Wylde)
12 – Days Are Nights (feat. Ted Nugent)
13 – Do Ya think I’m Sexy (Sung by Carmine, feat. Pat Travers) +
14 – Angels (feat. Char) +
15 – Guitar Zeus, Pt. 1 (feat Jennifer Batten)
16 – Safe (feat. Neal Schon)
17 – Dead Wrong (feat. Dweezil Zappa)
18 – Trippin’ Again (feat. Ty Tabor)
19 – Even Up the Score (feat. Ted Nugent)
20 – Dislocated (feat. Paul Gilbert)
21 – Stash (feat. Stevie Salas, John McEnroe)
22 – Perfect Day (feat. Warren DeMartini)
23 – Killing Time (feat. Ty Tabor)
24 – So Long (feat. Doug Aldrich)
25 – My Own Advice (feat Kenji Kitajima)
26 – Time to Set Alarms (feat Elliot Easton, Bob Daisley)
27 – GZ Blues (feat. Seymour Duncan, Steven Seagal)
28 – Guitar Zeus, Pt. 2 (feat. Leslie West, Jennifer Batten)
29 – Where you Belong (feat Paul Gilbert)
30 – Cruzin (feat. Denny Laine)
31 – Couldn’t Be Better (Feat. RaiZi) +
32 – Score (Feat. Ted Nugent)
33 – Snake (feat. Bruce Kulick)

+ previously unreleased

Tony Franklin (The Firm, Blue Murder) – bass
Kelly Keeling (M.S.G) – vocals, keys, rhythm guitar
Carmine Appice – drums, vocals


You may also like...

1 Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.