IMPERIA – Flames Of Eternity [Digipak version +1] (2019)

IMPERIA - Flames Of Eternity (2019) full

IMPERIA, fronted by Norwegian singer Helena Iren Michaelsen (the original vocalist of the Dutch band SAHARA DUST, which later changed its name to EPICA) will release its fifth studio album, “Flames Of Eternity”, tomorrow February 22, 2019.
The mix and mastering was once again put into the magical hands of Jacob Hansen (PRETTY MAIDS), while guitarist Jan Yrlund himself is responsible for the album’s artwork.

Straight away, this record hits you as being one of pure quality in this genre, as the opening chords of ‘Scarred Soul’ kick in, the general theme of the album is set, one of grandiose Symphonic Metal in all its glory.
Helena Iren Michaelsen has one of those instantly recognisable voices, harnessing such power and purpose, and yet displaying a level of finesse and beauty that few others in the genre can match.
The unbelievably catchy ’Fear Is An Illusion’ sounds just immense, delivering all that anyone could want, soaring melodic riffs, clean and growl vocal deliveries, and a pure get up and dance vibe.

The album has its diverse moments as well, the hauntingly beautiful ’Invisible Tears’ overflows with emotion and passion, the addition of a string section lifting the track to new levels.
’Otherside’ is just a pure delight if you like operatic passages mixed with sharp guitar riffs that ticks all the boxes. ’My Guardian Angel’, again with a really heavy riff, brings a slightly darker edge to the album.
This CD Digipak version closes with a sublime piano rendition of ’Mother’, which is simply faultless.

“Flames Of Eternity” is a very strong, well composed and arranged album in the sympho style. The production deserves a huge pat on the back here as well, Jan Yrlund and Oliver Philipps delivering an excellent job creating a hugely professional product.
If you revel in the whole Symphonic / Female Vocal side of Metal (and add a touch of Goth), then ’Flames Of Eternity’ is an album that you will instantly fall in love with, and easily becomes Imperia’s strongest release to date.

01. The Scarred Soul
02. Fear Is An Illusion
03. Unspoken Words
04. Book Of Love
05. Blinded
06. Invisible Tears
07. Otherside
08. Beauty Within
09. My Guardian Angel
10. The Ocean
11. A Crying Heart
12. Mother (Piano Version) [bonus]

Helena Iren Michaelsen – Vocals
Gerry Verstreken – Bass
Steve Wolz – Drums
Jan “Örkki” Yrlund – Guitars
Henrik Perelló – guest Violin

Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.