RECKLESS LOVE – Spirit [UK edition + 2]

RECKLESS LOVE - Spirit [UK edition + 2] full

Finnish melodic rockers RECKLESS LOVE are working in a new album right now, meanwhile one of yous asked for their album “Spirit” with its extra tracks. The band has a headquarter based in Great Britain as well, and the band’s label subsidiary at the islands released “Spirit” including an exclusive bonus track for all the loyal UK fans.
As extra we have here as well the standalone single ‘Night On Fire [bombastic edit]’ not available anymore.

To the 11-track of the regular release, the UK CD version adds the exclusive extra track “Die Hard”, a flamboyant rocker driven by a contagious riff, gang backing vocals and a sharp solo recalling the early Reckless Love style (and mid-Eighties Motley Crue).

Anyone can get the ’80ss look down if they try hard enough, but not many can write and play fine songs in this hard rock, melodic style. Reckless Love have nailed it for the most part in “Spirit”.
Opening with lead single “Night On Fire” is a statement of intent. Blending some hypnotic, voodoo drums and turning some almost tribal chants into archetypal Eighties ‘whoa, whoa’ is just going to grab you.
“Bad Lovin´” follows with more of those hit making tricks from the time when rock ruled the airwaves (‘na, na, na’ this time) and, yep, you’ve guessed it, it’s all about sex, in the Sunset Strip circa ’88 style.

Track three sees Olli Herman make the claim “I Love Heavy Metal”. Here Reckless Love turf out a Tuff sounding classic for an all new generation of Finnish Hairband fans while name checking some classic acts along the way. It’s a cool melodic hard rocker recalling Warrant in its prime, with a very nice melody and one of my favorites on the disc.
“Favorite Flavor” follows the theme – upbeat, joyous and with a pop-metal chorus as signature.

RECKLESS LOVE - Spirit [UK edition + 2] CD photo

The midtempo “Edge Of Our Dreams” adds some modernity to the album, but I prefer when Reckless Love push the pedal with sharp riffs, and this is not the case here.
For example, next track “Sex, Drugs & Reckless Love” is a marching rocker driven by bouncy rhythms and harmonies, a simple song, but this is what you want to hear from this band, and they do it truly well.
“Dying To Live” is a clean (guitars and rhythm section) rock song, again a bit modern, yet really effective. On “Metal Ass” they go for a fast, anthemic metallic tune which I like a lot, then “Runaway Love” is a fine melodic rocker with a contagious chorus.

“So Happy I Could Die” is another fav of mine, one of these type of songs build for the arenas. Huge guitars, massive backing vocals and that ‘spirit’ which Reckless Love is searching for.
The regular album ends with the only proper ballad; “Hot Rain”, a tale of heartbreak & loss well constructed, arranged and orchestrated faithful to the Eighties power ballad mould.

RECKLESS LOVE - Spirit [UK edition + 2] back cover

With this album Reckless Love wanted to recapture the ’80s ‘Spirit’ with some really catchy tunes, the right attitude and excellent production. You have into the mix a couple of modern melodic hard tracks as well.
A a solid, fun and enjoyable recording with a Sunset Strip atmosphere all over, spiced with a new wave of Scandinavian melodic hard rock styling.

01 – Night On Fire (album version)
02 – Bad Lovin’
03 – I Love Heavy Metal
04 – Favorite Flavor
05 – Edge Of Our Dreams
06 – Sex, Drugs & Reckless Love
07 – Dying To Live
08 – Metal Ass
09 – Runaway Love
10 – So Happy I Could Die
11 – Hot Rain
12 – Die Hard (UK edition exclusive Bonus Track)
13 – Night On Fire [bombastic edit]

Olli Herman – Vocals
Pepe Salohalme – Guitar
Jalle Verne – Bass
Hessu Maxx – Drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.