JETBOY – Damned Nation [Bad Reputation remaster +7]

JETBOY - Damned Nation [Bad Reputation remaster +7] full

French reissue label Bad Reputation has been doing a great job releasing ‘Collector Series / Remastered with Bonus’, with the main attraction being the addition of a bonus tracks or bonus disc, making these reissues the ‘definitive expanded versions’.
Requested by one of you, here’s the remastered reissue of JETBOY’s “Damned Nation [Bad Reputation remaster +7]” including seven collectible bonus tracks.

After their sleazy punky debut album, Jetboy changed the musical approach according to times; for the band’s second album “Damned Nation” the group fit the 1990 production sound to polished, melodic hard rockers with catchy choruses.

While many listeners doesn’t like the gritty attack of Jetboy’s first album – and their new 2019 CD as well – these should check out “Damned Nation”.
This album will appeal melodic hard rockers and traditional hard rock fans as well, because it’s closer to Poison / Britny Fox shiny melodies and the ‘more mature’ Guns N’ Roses stuff of their Use Your Illusion era.

Opener ‘Stomp It (Down To The Bricks)’ start the CD with definite hair metal bounce, pumping bass lines, and clean guitars / vocals. While driven by crunchy riffs, ‘Moonlight’ is very melodic and catchy, and you can tell this is a ‘new’ Jetboy.
Part of this new approach must be credited to Duane Baron & John Purdell production job. Both previously worked in King Kobra, Quiet Riot, Night Ranger and Motley Crue’s ‘Girls Girls Girls’ (among others) productions, so this give an idea on the sound provided to “Damned Nation”.

‘Heavy Chevy’ is heavy and punchy yet always melodious, a song titled ‘Evil’ may feel aggressive but it’s a hairy melodic rocker, then ‘Ready To Rumble’ makes you think about Kix’s catchiness.
Of course there’s a power ballad as well, ‘Too Late’, some kind of a mix between Poison and Warrant.

JETBOY - Damned Nation [Bad Reputation remaster +7] inside

This Bad Reputation remaster sounds great, adding 7 bonuses in a really good quality sound in the form of ‘High Gear’ and the killer ‘Suicidal Shakedown’ (think commercial LA Guns) and a lovely cover of KISS’ staple ‘Hard Luck Woman’.
Even the demo versions – including a quite different take on ‘Heavy Chevy’ – sound great, pre-production quality.

If you usually pass Jetboy’s music, you better listen to “Damned Nation [Bad Reputation remaster +7]”, a very, very good piece of US Melodic Hard Rock made 1990.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox

01 – Stomp It (Down to the Bricks)
02 – Moonlight
03 – Groove Tube
04 – Heavy Chevy
05 – Too Late
06 – Evil
07 – Trouble Comes
08 – Bullfrog Pond
09 – Ready to Rumble
10 – Rock’n’Roller
11 – Jam
12 – High Gear
13 – Suicidal Shakedown
14 – Hard Luck Woman (KISS cover)
15 – No Limit (Orignal Demo Version)
16 – Trouble Comes (Demo Version)
17 – Heavy Chevy (Demo Version)
18 – Rock’n’Roller (Demo Version)

Lead Vocals, Harmonica – Mickey Finn
Guitar, Backing Vocals – Billy Rowe
Guitars, Backing Vocals – Fernie Rod
Bass, Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocals – Sam Yaffa
Drums, Backing Vocals – Ron Tostenson
Percussion – Tom Werman
Backing Vocals, Producer, Engineer, Mix – Duane Baron, John Purdell


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.