GYPSY ROSE – Reloaded (2019)

GYPSY ROSE - Reloaded (2019) full

This is the first release from new Melodic Rock label ScandiRock Records, and what a great way to start: the re-issue of the GYPSY ROSE debut album under the new title “Reloaded”, with a new cover artwork, remastered by Martin Kronlund and with the previously unreleased track ‘Solitude’ added.

GYPSY ROSE was founded back in 1981 in Sweden by Håkan Gustafsson and Martin Kronlund, but their self-titled debut album was just released in 2005 – almost 25 years later! Now life has not been all too kind for the band during the ’80s. Labels that went belly-up after signing, warm attention from foreign producers (Taavi Mote – Geffen Records) that in the end was nothing more than a cold shower.
Finally GYPSY ROSE broke up in 1993, but with the during the past decade Melodic Hard Rock resurgence they reunited for this debut album.

Originally titled ‘Gypsy Rose’, this is one of my favorite Melodic Hard Rock albums from the past decade, now revitalized, indeed “Reloaded” by a terrific remastering.
All tracks here are pure gold for the genre, driven by biting guitars, stupendous vocals, keyboard flourishes and packed with sing-along choruses.

It’s hard to choose a favorite, honestly, all tracks are killer.
‘Promise to Stay’ is one of the best songs from the genre since the 2000’s, but darn, just listen to opener ‘When You Leave At Night’, ‘The Look In Your Eye’ or the AOrish ‘December Night’. This is top class Scandinavian Melodic Hard Rock.

“Reloaded” packs an assassin load of terrific songs, uptempo rockers melodic as it gets, powerful and catchy as hell.
GYPSY ROSE is one of the most underrated bands out there – mastermind Martin Kronlund is a truly talented guy, while singer Hakan Gustafsson is very close to ex- Bonfire singer Claus Lessmann – and this remastered reissue is a must have in your collection.
DON’T miss this.

01. When You Leave At Night
02. You Drive Me Crazy
03. Promise To Stay
04. Moonlight
05. You
06. Queen Of The Night
07. Burning
08. Light Up My Way
09. December Night
10. Fender 59
11. The Look In Your Eye
12. Solitude (bonus track)

Hakan Gustafsson – Vocals
Martin Kronlund – Guitars
Imre Daun – Drums
Mats Bostedt – Bass
Rikard Quist – Keyboards

Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.