SEVEN – Shattered [Japan Edition +1]

SEVEN - Shattered [Japan Edition +1] (2016) full

As requested, here’s SEVEN Japanese release of “Shattered”, the follow-up to their really good self-titled comeback album during this decade. That record used a number of name guests including Adam Wakeman and Mike Slammer, this time around it is more a band affair with multi-instrumentalist Lars Chriss producing.
The band’s main focus though is vocalist Mike Devine who uncannily sounds like Lou Gramm at times – listening to ‘Fight’ you’d think it was Gramm-era Foreigner.

The previous album had a fair few keys, this time around the keyboards / synths are set to max and there are two keyboardists – Frederik Bergh (Street Talk) and Kay Buckland – to cope with the ivory overload!

SEVEN - Shattered [Japan Edition +1] disc

And here comes the best part; the songs on “Shattered” are far superior co-written by the likes of Jeff Paris and Andy Loos (ex Swedish AORsters Glory) who also play bass here.

There are many musical treats on here for those hankering after an ’80s flavored melodic rock / AOR fix, be it the fast paced ‘Live This Life’ or the simply awesome opening song ‘Light Of 1,000 Eyes’, one of the best tunes on the CD.
The Journey-esque ‘High Hopes’ shows of more of the pomp-tastic keys wrapped around a catchy tune, whilst ‘Taking Over’ is one of those classic positive message melodic rock tunes and has a damn fine guitar riff in the Foreigner vein.

SEVEN - Shattered [Japan Edition +1] back

Oh, and there’s the pure AOR of ‘Broken Dream’ and ‘I Needed Time’ … both sound amazing with a terrific, glossy production.
I am very glad this comeback by Seven was not just a one-off album as they have plenty still to offer, and if you enjoyed their last album, this “Shattered” will blow your mind.
Simply put; one of the greatest AOR / Melodic Rock albums recently appeared.
If you can afford this Japanese version, this is a MANDATORY Purchase.

01 – Light of 1000 Eyes
02 – A Better Life
03 – Fight
04 – Shattered
05 – Live This Life
06 – Pieces of You
07 – Broken Dream
08 – High Hopes
09 – I Needed Time
10 – Taking Over
11 – Last Illusion
12 – World of Make Believe

Lead Vocals – Mick Devine
Guitar, Vocals – Keith MacFarlane
Bass – Andy Loos
Guest Vocals – Lin Devine, Nigel Bailey
Keyboards – Fredrik Bergh, Kay Backlund
Guitar, Drums, Producer, Mix – Lars Chriss
Songwriters – Lars Chriss, Fredrik Bergh, Andy Loos, Kay Backlund and Jeff Paris


You may also like...

1 Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.