ALICE COOPER – Hey Stoopid [Expanded Remastered Edition +3] Out Of Print


I should do this review quite short: “Hey Stoopid”, by ALICE COOPER, is amongst the top-10 best Melodic Hard Rock albums from 1991 (and that was a terrific year for the genre), besides, one of the best produced records of all time.
This jewel has been remastered / reissued by Cherry Red / Hear No Evil with a bunch of bonus tracks, and simply put; you must have it.

The ’80s had been a hard time for Alice Cooper, because he struggled to update his style & sound for the new decade. 1988’s Trash proved to be a successful affair with great rocking songs and in view of that album’s acceptance and success, the exact same template was used for follow-up “Hey Stoopid”.
But man, now in an incredible way: Cooper brought the cream of the scene crop this time around.

“Hey Stoopid” not only features the co-writing credits of Jack Ponti, Kelly Keeling, Al Pitrelli, Desmond Child, Nikki Sixx and Jim Vallance, but also monster musicians playing like Joe Satriani, Vinnie Moore, Steve Vai, Slash, Stan Bush, Ozzy and countless more.
Even many songs are arranged by the ‘traditional AOR’ guru Joey Carbone.

And production… ah, if you want to hear how a lush, glossy, slick Melodic Hard Rock album should sound, just put “Hey Stoopid” on your player.
Peter Collins – also called ‘Mr. Big’ – is one of the best Rock producers ever, having worked with Queensrÿche (Operation: Mindcrime, Empire), Rush, Bon Jovi, etc, but in my opinion, “Hey Stoopid” is his milestone behind the desk.

ALICE COOPER - Hey Stoopid Expanded Remastered Edition (2013) back cover

The original release of “Hey Stoopid” already sounded stupendous, this ‘Expanded Remastered Edition’ just enhances this outstanding recording plus 3 great bonus tracks.
You can definitely describe his CD as being a culmination of what the best of American Melodic Hard Rock had to offer, a 10/10 in my book.
A Must Have


01 – Hey Stoopid
02 – Love’s A Loaded Gun
03 – Snakebite
04 – Burning Our Bed
05 – Dangerous Tonight
06 – Might As Well Be On Mars
07 – Feed My Frankenstein
08 – Hurricane Years
09 – Little By Little
10 – Die For You
11 – Dirty Dreams
12 – Wind-Up Toy
13 – Hey Stoopid [Beba Edit]
14 – Fire [non-album track / Hendrix cover]
15 – It Rained All Night [B-side]

Alice Cooper: Vocals
Stef Burns, Vinnie Moore, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Slash, Zodiac Mindwarp, Mick Mars: Guitar
Hugh McDonald, Nikki Sixx: Bass
Mickey Curry: Drums
Robert Bailey, John Webster, Jai Winding: Keyboards
Steve Croes: Synclavier
Chris Boardman: String Arrangements
Sherwood Ball, Stan Bush, Kelly Keeling, Ozzy Osbourne, Jack Ponti, Lance Bulen, Scott Bender, Gary Falcone: Backing Vocals

Produced by Peter Collins / mastered by Bob Ludwig




You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.