CORY MARKS (feat Mick Mars) – Who I Am (2020)

CORY MARKS (feat Mick Mars) - Who I Am (2020) full

Who I Am” is the debut album from CORY MARKS, a young dude with lots of attitude (and talent) mixing Country music with hard-hitting stomp of Rock & Roll, and a strong dose of Southern Rock.
Something similar of what RON KEEL, BRETT MICHAELS, KID ROCK, etc did in the past, the album features collaborations with artists such as Mick Mars, Lzzy Hale, Ivan Moody, and Travis Tritt. It was produced by award winning Kevin Churko (Shania Twain, Ozzy Osbourne) and the result is pretty smokin’

Right towards the end of “Who I Am” there’s a song called “Keep Doing What I Do”. Close your eyes for a second and it could be a BLACK STONE CHERRY + RON KEEL BAND song, that’s the first thing.
Then there’s the lyrics. Here’s the bridge and chorus: “Time to call the girls and call the boys. And make a whole lotta that small town noise. I drink I smoke, ain’t scared to fight, Living each day like a Friday night, Making new friends, shootin’ back that shine, We all got dreams, I’m living mine it’s true, So here’s to you, I’m gonna raise some hell and keep doing what I do”

That probably tells you more about this record – Cory Marks’ debut – than anything else does.
It’s for the good ol’ boys, its never meaning no harm, oh and its going to take over the world. See, a college hockey player, and a pilot he might have been, but these days Cory Marks is about to break out as a big star.

The key to this is simple. Crossover potential. I mean like this is as likely to be played on Planet Rock as some country station in the US. This is as good – and polished, crikey, its polished – as Southern rock gets.
And the scamp isn’t even American. Marks is Canadian. And I don’t care what anyone thinks, “Outlaws And Outsiders” – which features Ivan Moody (FFDP), Travis Tritt and Mick Mars playing a solo like its Dr. Feelgood all over again – sounds like Nickelback (I mean this as a compliment).

It’s just that the one before it, “Devils Grin” is ready to throwdown in the redneck biker bars and the one after, “Good To Be Us” is melodic an gentle.
Not for nothing does this quote John Mellencamp, this is middle America, this is middle anywhere, frankly. But where it differs from the likes of Luke Bryan, is its got proper rock n’ roll bollocks.
“Blame It On The Double” kicks hard and “Another Night In Jail” does country pop, but if this is the small town dreamer that always flavours these things, this one is doing a stretch.

There’s a feeling here that this isn’t ever far from an unapologetic middle finger in the air. There’s a touch of blues about the title track, but it’s blues with nerve.
Indeed, scanning the tracklist before I listened to this, I got to “Drive” and thought – ‘oh, look another song about using the open road as a metaphor. And yeah, there’s a touch of it, but Springsteen only had her hands wrapped around his engines. Where Marks has his is somewhere else altogether.

Make no mistake, this is going to arenas.
One listen to “Better Off” confirms it, and even the ballad “My Whiskey Your Wine” – the one “proper” country thing, if you will – has a hit written right through it (there’s two versions of it here too).

Arguably they save the best for last. “Out In The Rain” is another ballad, and it’s a duet in the grand country tradition, however Lzzy Hale is sensational here. I’ve got all the HALESTORM records and I’ve never heard her sing like this.
Actually, the best is probably the first bonus track, “She’s Hollywood”. A rockin’ pop Skynyrd, if you want a hook, but the way he sneers: “with the movie stars, and the hipster bars, you can drive off a cliff in those electric cars” is worth getting the record for alone.

The pay off on this is simple: “She tried to change me, but she never could.” Ain’t you got the message yet?
He’s Cory Marks and “Who I Am” is who he is.
And he’s going to be huge, it’s that simple.


01 – Devil’s Grin
02 – Outlaws & Outsiders (feat Mick Mars, Travis Tritt, Ivan Moody)
03 – Good To Be Us
04 – Blame It On The Double
05 – Another Night In Jail
06 – Who I Am
07 – Drive
08 – Better Off
09 – My Whiskey Your Wine
10 – Keep Doing What I Do
11 – Out In the Rain (feat. Lzzy Hale of Halestorm)
12 – She’s Hollywood (BONUS)
13 – My Whiskey Your Wine (BONUS) (Acoustic)



You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. RockKen says:

    Awesome! Thanks! I love “Outlaws & Outsiders” and wanted to hear what the rest was like before purchase.

  2. Ron says:

    Great review – strong words for strong music. And really cool to see my name sprinkled in alongside these other #OuwlawsAndOutsiders, thank you.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Great album… Top 10 no!!! Top 5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.