TWISTER – Cursed & Corrected (2020)

TWISTER - Cursed & Corrected (2020) full

It’s just over a year since Durham-based rockers TWISTER truly announced their arrival upon the circuit of emerging rock outfits. A scintillating set saw the quartet deservedly claim both the plaudits and the prize of a record deal at Highway to Hell. Seizing their opportunity, TWISTER have delivered the magnificent ‘Cursed and Corrected’ – their debut on the Off Yer Rocka label, the record arm of event organisers HRH – chock-full of tunes that soar effortlessly whilst radiating a solar-sized incandescent warmth.
No matter how many times I spin ‘Cursed and Corrected’, I never tire of it. There’s just something that little bit eclectic about Twister’s new record that sets it apart from the pack in a good way.

Riding on the back of the anthem ’64 White Lies’, Covid may have robbed them of their planned 11 date European Tour but its not stopped them from putting together an album that at times will stop you in your tracks.

Opening track ‘We Are The Cursed And Corrected’ is an ominous instrumental. It eases in slowly until heavy drum patterns from Jack Corbett and a chilling riff lead into ‘Save Us Yourself’ that takes on that riff. It’s mouthwatering melodic rock at its finest as the verses soar courtesy of the vocals from Stevie Stoker. Full-on choruses that rock out with their cock out lead to a riff-heavy outro.
Another attention-grabbing vocal comes from ‘Young And Affected’. A supreme tour de force delivery that gets even more of a force of nature when it’s backed by a wall of guitars from Stevie and Jake Grimes. It even kicks up a gear to rage even more for a race to the finish line outro.

The quality just keeps on coming as the opening riffs for ‘Natural Survivor’ tease until they are let loose from their shackles to force along shout it out loud and proud choruses as a twin guitar bombast midsection crashes in.
Fretboard trickery opens up ‘Trees’ that goes all funky from the bass guitar prowess of Ryan Lee backed by dextrous drum patterns. Choruses are headbanging heaven with more hooks than a fishing tackle shop, like Cheap Trick on steroids!

‘Wild And Lonely (Fingers Crossed)’ is pure ’80s power pop / melodic rock. Dynamics are heavy but still have lashings of commercial suss that have rock radio play written all over it. There is so much going on in ‘Trading Hearts’ that it took repeated plays to get my head around it. Guitars jab throughout the verses as an angelic vocalled bridge herald the sugar-sweet choruses.

‘Call To Arms’ lives up to its title as a lilting piano intro heads off into guitar overload and thought-provoking lyrics match the mood of the song. If guitars could whisper then this track could confirm that they can as they breeze through the beautiful balladry of ‘Mystery’. A heart-melting vocal is backed by luscious orchestral strings and just enough drums to carry it along.

Here comes another song to light up any stadium as ‘Feeding Frenzy’ is a bona fide party starter chock full of “oh oh oh’s” and heartbeat-like kick drums. Guitars are let of the leash at the minute mark so just watch them go and the lead vocal is utterly overwhelming!
Where do these future classics in the making songs come from as ‘Monroe’ is another tug at the heartstrings. Guitars are bestial and the vocal could melt the coldest of hearts but its the choruses that take it to the next level.

‘Fist Fight By The Waterside’ is a song of two halves. This bass driven hard rocker with soul searching lyrics sees it head off into a full-on rager with demolition wrecking ball strength that pauses briefly for a chest-beating “whoa oh oh” breakdown.
This stunning album ends on a high with ’64 White Lies’. It’s my album highlight where guitar lines weave their way around the riffs over a lung-busting vocal tirade and an air guitar inducing riffathon.

I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from the press release:
“Focusing on Rock anthems that just won’t leave your head, the lads have created a record which is overflowing with catchy melodies with real substance in support. Twister have a sound like no other, a truly unique sound with a blend of genres from modern synth-based rock&pop, and more guitar-based Rock and Metal.” – That about sums it up.
One of the best debuts of the year … Highly Recommended


01 – We Are the Cursed & Corrected
02 – Save Us Yourself
03 – Young & Affected
04 – Natural Survivor
05 – Trees
06 – Wild & Lonely (Fingers Crossed)
07 – Trading Hearts
08 – Call to Arms
09 – Mystery
10 – Feeding Frenzy
11 – Monroe
12 – Fist Fight by the Waterside
13 – 64 White Lies

Stevie Stoker – Lead vocals/guitar
Jake Grimes – Guitar/backing vocals
Ryan Lee – Bass guitar/backing vocals
Jack Corbett – Drums/backing vocals



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.