BLACK SABBATH – Vol. 4 (2021 Remaster)

BLACK SABBATH - Vol. 4 (2021 Remaster) full

Perhaps one of the most underrated BLACK SABBATH albums, “Vol. 4“, is getting a fresh remastering this 2021, and will be an expanded, deluxe edition including some unreleased material.
With this new sonic treatment, ”Vol. 4” gets a new, multi-dimensional sound.
On ”Vol 4”, there was a far wider scope to things than on the doomy Paranoid, or the bonged-out Master Of Reality. Songs like ‘Cornucopia’ and ‘Under The Sun’ boasted trademark bottom-end Iommi riffs, but elsewhere there were more twitchy, upbeat moments like the groovy ‘Supernaut’, epic opener ‘Wheels Of Confusion’, and even a piano ballad in ‘Changes’.
But there’s also a shine to everything on ”Vol 4”, an energy that makes ‘Tomorrow’s Dream’ and ‘Snowblind’ arrive far more swaggering and confident than previously. Then Sabbath had been good. Now, they seemed to say, we’re f@cking great, dudes.

Having constructed much of the material for their first three records from ideas formed during lengthy jams at shows, especially during their tenure at Hamburg’s Star Club where The Beatles had also done time, their riff cupboard had become somewhat bare.
Thus, when they set up camp at a mansion in Bel-Air to record their new opus, it would require much more songwriting time than previously.

Flush with fame and money, the band managed to spend $75,000 more than the recording budget – including drugs, which they took in such quantities that it would be delivered in soap powder boxes.
But these resources also meant that the band were able to exercise their creative muscles with far fewer limitations on them than had previously been the case.

This was an iconic album that would be a massive influence upon the work of other bands.
One of my favourites to stick on when with fellow Sabbath fans to simply enjoy the genius of Iommi and Butler combined with Ozzy’s unique voice.


01 – Wheels of Confusion / The Straightener (2021 Remaster)
02 – Tomorrow’s Dream (2021 Remaster)
03 – Changes (2021 Remaster)
04 – FX (2021 Remaster)
05 – Supernaut (2020 Remaster)
06 – Snowblind (2021 Remaster)
07 – Cornucopia (2021 Remaster)
08 – Laguna Sunrise (2021 Remaster)
09 – St. Vitus Dance (2021 Remaster)
10 – Under the Sun / Every Day Comes and Goes (2021 Remaster)

Tony Iommi – guitars, piano, mellotron
Geezer Butler – bass guitar, mellotron
Bill Ward – drums, percussion
Ozzy Osbourne – vocals



You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Olivia says:

    Thank you so much. There is a 4 CD Super Deluxe Edition on the horizon too.

  2. Anonymous says:

    This sounds excellent there is a Vol. 4 (Super Deluxe Edition)(4CD) out there somewhere thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.