BADD BOYZ (Paul Shortino) – Badd Boyz [Japan only release] (1993) Rare Albums

BADD BOYZ (Paul Shortino) - Badd Boyz [Japan only release] (1993) Rare Albums full

As requested, here’s the quite unknown band BADD BOYZ and their sole self-titled album only released in Japan. Badd Boyz was a late ’80s project of Paul Shortino and bass player Sean McNabb formed when they leave Quiet Riot. The line up was completed by other talented musicians namely Mitch Perry (MSG, Talas, Steeler, Heaven), Michael Guy (Shark Island, House of Lords) and Rich Carlton.
Managed by Wendy Dio, the band had a deal with Pasha Records, but Murphy’s Law prevailed and the band broke up.
Most of the songs here were recorded 1989, others completed later by Shortino with different musicians and after an arrangement with a Japanese label, only released there in 1993.
This is a forgotten little gem plenty of huge rockin’ hooks, killer choruses, and gang backing vocals. Shortino sounds particularly good on this album, perhaps one of his best and unknown performances.

There are some really good tunes on this album including “Leave It To The Law”, “No Time For Cryin” and “Straight To My Heart”. I would put these songs up against anything else Shortino has ever recorded. They are that good.
If you can find this CD at a reasonable price, I would definitely recommend picking it up. Ebay may be the only way to find this rare CD from Badd Boyz.
Highly Recommended


1. Leave It to the Law
2. No Time for Cryin’
3. I Don’t Want to Hear Your Heart Break
4. Straight to My Heart
5. You’re Mine Tonight
6. This Must Be Love
7. Hard to Say Goodbye
8. Save Our Land

Paul Shortino – vocals
Mitch Perry – guitar
Michael Guy – guitar
Sean McNabb – bass, background vocals
Rich Carlton – drums
other members:
Steve Fister – guitar
Matt Abts – drums


out of print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.