TRIGGER – Trigger [Rock Candy remastered & reloaded] *0dayrox EXCLUSIVE*

TRIGGER - Trigger [Rock Candy remastered & reloaded] *0dayrox EXCLUSIVE* full

As requested, here’s the quite hard to find Rock Candy Records (not listed into their website anymore) remastered reissue of the the long sought after – and never before available on CD – self titled debut album from cult late Seventies New Jersey band TRIGGER self-tiled album.
Originally issued on the legendary Casablanca label in 1978, this album has been a hard rock collector’s favorite; for years a perennial top 3 title in virtually every reissue wish list published in on-line forums and beyond.
Discovered by Gene Simmons of Kiss who helped them to get a record deal, Trigger’s sole major label album was issued slap bang in the middle of the disco era resulting in low sales but attracting huge critical acclaim. As contagious a collection of loud & anthemic, no frills riff rockers you’ll ever likely hear, the band’s music combines the the best elements of groups such as Starz, Teaze, Kiss, The Babys and Billy Squier.
This reissue, officially licensed from Universal Music, has been remastered from the master tapes and sound fabulous.

If you take a look at the cover artwork you can see that Trigger’s look has pretty much in common with other Casablanca Records artist at the time: Giuffria’s Angel. But musically, Trigger is timeless catchy rock ‘n roll plenty of radio friendly melodies.
They could be compared with Starz, Legs Diamond, Moxy and John Waite’s The Babys indeed.

Despite the year of recording (1978), “Trigger” sounds crisp and commercially close to the refined early Eighties productions. The album was co-arranged & produced by Corky Stasiak (who worked with Kiss at the time) and together with Jay Messina (Aerosmith, Cheap Trick) and Dennis Ferrante (Alice Cooper) enginereed the whole thing. So you know what to expect here.
Most of the songs are sung by drummer Derek Remington with his slightly raspy throat, but guitarists Jimmy Duggan (RIP) and Richie House also did lead vocals on a couple of tracks each.
With three well trained lead singers, Trigger develops here as well very nice multi-part harmony vocals set.

Apparently Trigger recorded a second album but they fell into oblivion with Casablanca’s bankrupt. The band didn’t bust through the glass ceiling – and they should have shot past the glass ceiling by a mile.
A fun, very enjoyable album packed with melodic, American late Seventies rock n’ roll music.
Highly Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


01 – Somebody Like You
02 – Gimmie Your Love
03 – Baby, Don’t Cry
04 – Shake It Up
05 – Rockin ‘Cross The U.S.A.
06 – Deadly Weapon
07 – I’ve Heard That Line Before
08 – Beware Of Strangers
09 – I Think I’m Ready
10 – Don’t Stop Your Love
11 – We’re Gonna Make It

Jimmy Duggan – guitars, vocals
Richie House – guitars, vocals
Tom Nigra – bass, backing vocals
Derek Remington – drums, vocals



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Carl Matthews says:

    Somewhere out there is their 1975 Parliament Records release “Trigger Treat”. It’s almost power pop sounding. Difficult I know, but to have a copy……

  2. Anonymous says:

    This is awesome. I saw them a lot in small clubs in NJ back in the day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.