BENTWOOD ROCKER – Taken From The Vaults A-CD [previously unreleased ’80s recordings]

BENTWOOD ROCKER - Taken From The Vaults A-CD [previously unreleased] full

Canadians BENTWOOD ROCKER started as band in 1977, but several members were friends since many years before. They released an independent album which sold pretty well, and then Quality Records singed the quintet for a new record and promises of proper distribution. The band moved to Florida, and recorded the 1982 LP “Take Me To Heaven”, a very fine slice of radio-friendly early ’80s AOR tunes. Bentwood Rocker are strong in multi-part vocal harmonies performed by all members, present on all tracks.
The album sold well, but their label went on some troubles and BENTWOOD ROCKER lost its contract. However the band continued playing and recording all over the decade, and all these tracks (some singles and some unreleased) were compiled onto “Taken From The Vaults“.
There’s two CD’s, this is “A-CD”, with material mostly recorded during the first half of the ’80s. The recordings – very good sound quality – ranges from AOR similar to Spys / Balance and melodic rock (think early Loverboy) to some WestCoast touches here and there ala Player / Pages.
Highly Recommended


01 – Taleve
02 – The Closer We Are
03 – Prisoner Of The Night
04 – Taking It To The End
05 – Lock It Up!
06 – Just Might Take Your Love
07 – Kiss It Goodbye
08 – Never Get Away
09 – Guns
10 – The Children of Chernobyl
11 – While The Children Sleep
12 – You’ll Know When She Comes
13 – Boys Will Be Boys

Dan Thompson – vocals, guitar
Eric Baragar – vocals, guitar, keyboards
Steve Smith – drums, vocals
Mike Goettler – bass, vocals
Barry Haggarty – guitar, vocals


Out of print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.