ABBA – Voyage (2021)

ABBA - Voyage (2021) full

It’s a comeback era with many successful bands / solo artists returning into the scene after many years, sometimes with successful results, sometimes not. But if there was a band that none expected to get back in business, pop mega-stars ABBA shoulda been the name.
Well, for the first time in 40 years ABBA are back with a revolutionary new concert that will see Agnetha, Björn, Benny and Anni-Frid performing digitally with a live 10-piece band, in a purpose-built arena in London from 27th May 2022, alongside a brand new studio album title “Voyage“, to be released world-wide tomorrow.
The digital / hologram versions of ABBA have been created following weeks and months of motion-capture and performance techniques with the four band members and an 850-strong team from Industrial Light & Magic.
The new songs on ”Voyage” were recorded together at Benny’s studio Riksmixningsverket in Stockholm, and yes, it’s only time that many of these began to be covered by metal / hard rock bands.

For the most part, ”Voyage” is pure ABBA. Bjorn and Benny leave nothing to chance. The orchestration is as big as an ocean-liner and the songs are arranged as if it’s the tentpole moment in a Broadway musical or the latest Disney animated extravaganza.
Just listen to opener ‘I Still Have Faith In You’.

‘Don’t Shut Me Down’ has echoes of two past triumphs – musically it mines the Scando-disco they perfected with Dancing Queen; lyrically it’s a cousin to 1982’s The Day Before You Came, where Bjorn’s somewhat stilted take on English was a strength, as the narrator runs through the mundane details of their day before the chance meeting with a lover who changed everything.
The new song could be about the same couple, now long separated, but cautiously reconnecting. Of course, the fascination the world had with the two couples in the band splitting up plays into the narrative and gives a song like this extra weight.

Songs like ‘Just A Notion’ and ‘No Doubt About It’ put the 70-something Swedes back in a time machine – while bringing up images of satin knickerbockers, thigh-high suede boots and lots of feathered hair – as they recreate the glittery glam-pop singalongs they churned out almost half a century ago.
Other songs are not as good, but dude, that happened with all ABBA albums…

ABBA were a phenomenon that dominated pop music for a reason – two men who could write across multiple popular music genres, crafting undeniable melodies that stuck in your head; two women who were powerhouse vocalists separately, but out of his world when they sang together.
Is ABBA’s comeback album ‘Voyage’ worth the trip?


01 – I Still Have Faith In You
02 – When You Danced With Me
03 – Little Things
04 – Don’t Shut Me Down
05 – Just A Notion
06 – I Can Be That Woman
07 – Keep An Eye On Dan
08 – Bumblebee
09 – No Doubt About It
10 – Ode To Freedom

Agnetha Fältskog – lead vocals
Anni-Frid Lyngstad – lead vocals
Benny Andersson – synths, keyboards, backing vocals
Björn Ulvaeus – guitar, backing vocals


Pre Order:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.