FANS OF THE DARK – Fans Of The Dark (2021)

FANS OF THE DARK - Fans Of The Dark (2021) full

FANS OF THE DARK is pretty unique band with are releasing their self-titled debut CD via Frontiers Music tomorrow.Formed in the summer of 2020 by Freddie Allen, drummer and main songwriter, and lead vocalist Alex Falk, the pair went to high school together in Stockholm and after a few years reconnected recently with a vision to create a band which would mix the melodies and approach of classic and melodic rock with elements of the great metal music of the ’80s.
The final result is one of the most exciting things you’ll hear emerging from the fruitful Swedish melodic rock scene, showcasing a tight, inventive musical approach with outstanding vocals.
The band’s lineup completed by two laented musicians: Robert Majd (Captain Black Beard, Metalite, Nighthawk) who came in on bass and Oscar Bromvall (Palace, Code Red) on guitar.
Mixing and mastering was handled by Michael Palace (Palace, Kent Hilli) so expect a bright melodious sound, while Ryan Roxie appears as guest on guitar.
Don’t be fooled by the album’s artwork, this melodic hard rock with an Eighties feeling all over.

We said FANS OF THE DARK is pretty unique because they melodic rock isn’t formulaic. At places it’s edgy, at others catchy n’ fun (‘Zombies in My Class’), at others quite elaborated.
This album contains eight tracks and after first listen I have to say I really enjoyed every single moment of it. All the songs are well-written, with clever arrangements and strong emphasis on the guitars – and, of course, the ‘characteristic’ vocals of Alex Falk; his voice has ‘depth’ and a quality to aim things to a higher level.
For sure, one of the most diverse and, at the same time, extremely interesting albums released by Frontiers Music so far in 2021.
Highly Recommended


01 – The Ghost of Canterville
02 – Escape from Hell (feat. Ryan Roxie)
03 – The Running Man
04 – Dial Mom for Murder
05 – Life Kills
06 – Rear Window
07 – The Foreigner
08 – Zombies in My Class

Alex Falk – vocals
Robert Majd – bass
Oscar Bromvall – guitar
Freddie Allen – drums
Michael Palace – add. guitar, synths


Pre Order:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.