TEASER (Adrian Vandenberg) – Teaser [Bad Reputation remastered +5] (2021) *only at 0dayrox*

TEASER (Adrian Vandenberg) - Teaser [Bad Reputation remaster +5] (2021) *only at 0dayrox* full

Bad Reputation is reissuing the long time out of print, self-titled sole album from TEASER, the first band of Dutch guitarist Adrian Vandenberg including various bonus tracks. Still using his real name Adje van der Berg and still a teenager, Vandenberg met singer Jos Veldhuizen while playing at the same stage on different bands. Adrian was impressed by Veldhuizen’s voice, very similar to Paul Rodgers.
They formed TEASER and got the chance to record a single in 1977 (included into this reissue as bonus) which caught the attention of prestigious label Vertigo (Black Sabbath, Thin Lizzy, Uriah Heep, Status Quo) who signed the band to record “Teaser”, a 10-track LP appeared in 1978.
The music here has classic hard rock sound with a bluesy backbone, obviously influenced by the British scene – Bad Company / Free – very similar in style / production to Whitesnake’s first albums.

Teaser originated from Enschede, a major industrial town in the East of the Netherlands. Having moved there in his teens, Adrian began by playing in bands like ‘Mother Of Pearl’ (with Jos Zoomer, later to become the drummer in a later version of Teaser and Vandenberg), ‘Darling’ (the group with whom Adrian recorded his first single), the ‘Jaap Dekker Boogie Set’ and ‘Magic Box’, both bands featuring well-known Dutch pianists.

At every opportunity, Adrian tried to go and see a band called Maddogs who had in their ranks a singer with an incredible voice; Jos Veldhuizen. Adrian was several years younger than Jos, whose band even owned their own P.A., making him slightly reluctant to approach him.
However, when Maddogs recruited a new bass player Adrian realized that he’d have to act fast: “I’ve got to act now otherwise they may find an amazing guitarist and ruin all my plans”. His imagination and aspirations were endless; gold albums, world tours, beautiful women, fast cars, caviars and champagne, to name but a few.
To cut a long story short, it was an offer no one would have dared refuse. The reality of course was slightly different: long car drives through Germany to play at some military bases in the middle of nowhere, and not enough cash to go round.

Eventually, Adrian’s connections in the music business rewarded Teaser with a recording contract, the result was a self-titled first (and only album); a self-produced, rough edged blues rock album featuring Adrian’s melodic, direct approach to guitar playing, his own sleeve art-work and Veldhuizen’s soulful rock ‘n’ roll voice, a voice reminiscent of Paul Rodgers’ early work.
The combination of these two musical forces, backed by such talents as bass player Peter Van Eyk and drummer Nico de Gooyer, resulted in the writing of songs which are as memorable as they are accessible.

However, it’s very unlikely that anyone outside The Netherlands, except for a few old soldiers, has ever heard of Teaser. Mention the name Vandenberg and you’ll get a different reaction of course. Rumour has it that around this time Adrian auditioned for a guitarist-spot in Thin Lizzy, but that never worked out.
Adrian instigated a number of changes in Teaser’s line-up. Enlisting the help of Jos Zoomer, former Turbo (another Dutch rock-band) bass-player Dick Kemper, and singer Bert Heerink. The new band rallied together and started creating their own brand of classically orientated melodic blues hard rock.

Teaser’s very first demo out-takes got them an American recording deal, and the band’s name was changed to Vandenberg. Their first album was recorded at Jimmy Page’s Sol studios in England. It was at the end of 1982 that the band went nervously to a Whitesnake concert to present David Coverdale with a copy of their album.
Although Coverdale later claimed that it was Adrian’s girlfriend who he was interested in, he told them at that time that he was impressed by them, and asked for Adrian’s phone number. The Dutch Windmill would be the first guitarist Coverdale phoned after the firing of Micky Moody.

Due to the massive chart success of Vandenberg’s single “Burning Heart”, the timing wasn’t exactly perfect. A number of years later the perfect opportunity presented itself when Coverdale needed musicians to help promote the Whitesnake “1987” album. Joining Whitesnake gave Adrian an opportunity to work with one of his all time heroes and to meet many other idols on the way.
The Teaser album started it all…
Highly Recommended classic hard rock

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – What You Need Is Love
02 – I’ve Sold My Soul To Rock ‘n’ Roll
03 – Ride On The Train
04 – Don’t Break My Heart
05 – Don’t Try To Change Me
06 – I Need Love
07 – Leave Me If You Want To
08 – I’m A Bad Man
09 – It’s Gonna Be Alright
10 – Do It To Me
11 – Don’t Tease Me (single B side)
12 – Oh Theresa (single mix)
13 – Oh Theresa (old mix)
14 – Now I Need You More Than Ever (single)
15 – Roll Thru The Night (single B side)

Jos Veldhuizen – lead vocals
Adrian Vandenberg – guitars, piano, vocals
Peter Van Eyk – bass
Bico de Gooijer – drums



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. kosedi says:

    great album.Thank you…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.