TERRA NOVA – Ring That Bell [Japan Edition +1] (2022) HQ

TERRA NOVA - Ring That Bell [Japanese Edition +1] (2022) full

Dutch AOR / Melodic Rock band TERRA NOVA will release a new album entitled ”Ring That Bell” on June 3, 2022 via Lion Music, but the CD was already released in Japan by King Records including a bonus track.
Terra Nova is already a veteran act from the genre, always releasing quality, elaborated material. In fact, with ”Ring That Bell” the band is celebrating the 30th anniversary of their debut album release.
Still with with founder members bros Ron (keyboards, synths) and Fred (vocals) at charge of songwriting along with long-time guitarist Gesuino Derosas, the line up for this recording is completed with session musicians bass player Jeroen Bos and veteran, current Praying Mantis drummer Hans in’t Zandt.

The opening duo of ‘Carpe Diem’ and ‘Crank It Up’ are the type of songs Terra Nova excel at – plenty of harmonies, keyboards and catchy choruses. Speaking keyboards, those on ‘Touch Down’ are a thing of beauty. Upbeat music that is needed right now. The title track utilises the band’s layered vocal harmonies to great effect. You find yourself joining in even after just one listen.
Of course there are ballads, with ‘Give Me Shelter’ just shading ‘Home’ and ‘Lightning Rod’, mainly for the vocal performance and emotive piano.

There is a Journey-esque vibe on ‘Where Do We Go From Here’ with a touch of classic West Coast AOR as well. Very different from the rest of the album but it doesn’t seem out of place. Sublime guitar solo on this one too.
‘Running On Empty’ continues the Journey sound and again another fine guitar solo from Gesuino Derosas.

Terra Nova’s ”Ring That Bell” will appeal to AOR / melodic rock aficionados and fans of the band’s traditional sound for the genre, which never deviates from the classic ’80s smooth style. Terra Nova hasn’t released a bad album in a 30+ career, and they have certainly pulled out the stops on this new offer.
A very impressive and enjoyable listen.



01 – Carpe Diem
02 – Crank It Up
03 – What’s Broken Can Be Mend
04 – Ring That Bell
05 – Home
06 – Angles & Demons
07 – Bust Your Balls
08 – Where Do We Go From Here
09 – Running On Empty
10 – Touch Down
11 – Gimme Shelter
12 – Second Chances
13 – We Are [Japan Bonus Track]

Ron Hendrix – keybords, synths
Fred Hendrix – vocals
Gesuino Derosas – guitars
Jeroen Bos – bass
Hans in’t Zandt – drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.