AMERICAN JETSET – Cat’s Got Your Tongue (2022) + Live, Love, Die On Main EP (2018)

AMERICAN JETSET - Cat's Got Your Tongue (2022) + Live, Love, Die On Main EP (2018) full

After decades of candy-coated pop, vanilla indie and corporate rap, a new generation of Rock & Roll has emerged. The hysteria spurred by Greta Van fleet, Rival Sons, and The Struts has reached a fever pitch and rock fans are dying for more.
Enter AMERICAN JETSET. Channeling the heroes of the 1980s Sunset Strip era, the Jetset boys are direct descendants of those sleeping giants, and their anthemic hooks and animated live show have been turning heads from Charm City to Hollywood.
With an impressive EP in 2018 and a first album in 2020 (now very hard to find), the band continued their rise supporting Tom Keifer of Cinderella, Jack Russell’s Great White, Faster Pussycat, Living Colour, LA Guns, Slaughter and more.
Fast forward to 2022, and American Jetset are back with ”Cat’s Got Your Tongue”, a new album of brand new material that marks the rebound of a band which nearly succumbed to the vast pitfalls of a stalled music business.
Every now and then a new band pops up on your radar that has that extra something… American Jetset have those intangibles.

Opening intro of “3AM Charm City” sets the mood for what’s about to be served up. Leading track “Bombs Away” is a true declaration and opens with an infectious guitar lick and crashing cymbals to kick the album off on a very high note and get the adrenaline flowing. It’s got a chugging rhythm that’s accented by drummer Jeff Bradford’s relentless, hard-hitting beats. Lyrically, the song hints at a severed relationship and features a blistering guitar solo.

New guitarist Skinz Skinsacos makes it apparent very early on in Cat’s Got Your Tongue that he’s out for blood and taking no prisoners. The guitar tracks performed in tandem by front man Ian Kaine MacGregor and Skinsacos sizzle throughout the album.
The title track “Cats Got Your Tongue” starts with a back-alley guitar lick that sways and snarls along to MacGregor’s barb-wired lyrical content and sinewy delivery. In terms of tempo, it’s a bit of a slowdown from predecessor “Bombs Away” but that big, snaking groove that drives the song makes it a winner

From the moment “Tokyo Radio” hit your speakers, the song immediately fixated itself into your memory and is undoubtedly the catchiest four minutes of the entire album. The track is radio-ready with all of the key ingredients — big gang vocals you can shout along to at a concert, melodic guitar lines, and an emotive solo that’s just impolite enough to remind us where things stand. With the right stars aligned, I can see this song being a big single for the band and also a live staple as Jetset head out on the road to promote the album.

“Falling Stars” is big, dramatic, it has moments of melancholy — it’s the big power ballad that will have you reaching for your lighter and singing along. The guitar notes also fly high on this one and are underscored by a brilliant solo. In fact, the same can be said of the musicianship throughout the entire record.
The addition of guitarist Skinz Skinsacos, who recently replaced erstwhile guitarist T. Lance Reeder, is a perfect fit to the band.

“Save Somebody Else” follows and is another animal. It’s a dizzying mid-tempo number that serves as a warning. The guitar tracks are more rhythmic in this one and take a back seat to the hypnotic, chanted chorus that are mesmerizing.
“Unwanted” feels more light-hearted than its predecessor while venturing into uncharted territory for American Jetset. Both the breaks in the song and jangly guitar sounds aren’t exactly what one would call a departure, but they feel new and unlike what I’ve heard from the band before. It all comes together with near-perfect vocal harmonies that are the crown jewels of the track.

Jetset wrap up Cat’s Got Your Tongue with a sweeping, Americana-style ballad that feels like farewell. And they do that very well. “Everafter” starts off with MacGregor singing nearly acapella-style over tinkering piano keys before the chorus comes crashing down, complete with weeping violins that add some movement and needed depth to the song. Off in the distance, faint gang-vocal chants can be heard at bay so as not to drown out the charm of the record in its final moments.

You’ve likely heard the story many times over, as told by dozens upon dozens in the music industry. They’re “back with their best album”. They’re “sounding better than ever”. The “highs and lows have only made them stronger and tighter as a unit”. I’ll spare you those claims, cliches and spin.
In the case of American Jetset, no lip service is needed. They’re back with a stellar new album that’s a natural progression from where they started to where they’re going.
To check the band’s origins, just listen to their first EP ‘Live, Love, Die On Main’. What American Jetset does on this EP is essentially create Side A of a really enjoyable album with a mix of rockers and the ballad placed in that natural fourth slot in the running order.

Put simply, you’ll want to crank this CD up in your car all summer long and you’d be hard pressed to find anything negative to say about the music found herein.
Highly Recommended


Cat’s Got Your Tongue (2022)
01 – 3AM Charm City
02 – Bombs Away
03 – Cat’s Got Your Tongue
04 – Tokyo Radio
05 – Falling Stars
06 – Save Somebody Else
07 – Unwanted
08 – Everafter

Live, Love, Die On Main EP (2018)
01 – Go It Alone
02 – Forgotten Tragedies
03 – Live Love Die
04 – Shameless
05 – Monsters

Ian Kaine MacGregor – vocals, guitar
Skinz Skinsacos – lead guitar
Kevin Harrington – bass, backing vocals
Jeff Bradford – drums, percussion



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.