QWEST – Dream Zone ’84 [Deluxe Edition reissue +4] (2021)

QWEST - Dream Zone '84 [Deluxe Edition reissue +4] (2021) full

After decades being collectibles, finally last year finally were reissued both albums from Canadian, Calgary based outfit QWEST, including bonus tracks.
After their debut album ”Tampico Gold” worked well in the local scene with good sales and considerable radio airplay, QWEST played the circuit and beyond, meanwhile there was interest in the band not on ly in the USA, but Europe.
The band’s musical style – originally radio friendly, FM light AOR, poppy rock – rapidly morphed through these years following the sound bands like Night Ranger, Loverboy, Survivor, etc were sporting at the time.
By 1983, QWEST’s sound added a much more melodic rock edge, loads of keys, pumping bass lines and and overall feel of ‘action movie soundtrack AOR’ tunes. That is what we hear on this, the band’s second and final album, 1984’s “Dream Zone“.

After signing a new deal with Quality Records, Qwest released this follow-up LP “Dream Zone” with the label’s promise of proper distribution and promotion.
Although in the same melodic vein as the first album, the new record was more focused on guitars and melodic rock drive, with the keyboards / synths of the moment providing the AOR patina, and better, anthemic choruses.

The lead single was “I Don’t Wanna Break Your Heart,” and along with “You’re Not So Hot,” “Dreamer,” and “Nothing To Lose,” was indicative of the album, keyboard-oriented AOR / melodic rock with tamed guitar solos.
“Dream Zone” sold decently and Qwest toured presenting the LP however the label support wasn’t strong as supposed. Within a year or so everyone drifted off to do other projects.

“Dream Zone” is classic 1984 AOR / Melodic rock – for many the best year for the genre – timeless Eighties CanCon stuff.
While both Qwest albums were reissued in Canada by Pacemaker in 1996, and a year later in Europe through Razor & Tie Records, since then became rare pieces.
So it’s really nice to have this music available again. Eighties AOR fans rejoice.
Highly Recommended


01 – We Need Love
02 – Don’t Say No
03 – You’re Not So Hot
04 – Nothing to Lose
05 – Dreamer
06 – (I Don’t Wanna) Break Your Heart
07 – Never Forget
08 – Trouble Trouble
09 – Come To Me
10 – Hold Me
11 – Dreamer (alternate)
12 – We Need Love (alternate)
13 – Nothing to Lose (alternate)
14 – Never Forget (alternate)

Shelly Gellner – vocals, guitars
Barry Gellner – vocals, bass
Greg Gunhold – guitars, backing vocals
Jim Symchych – drums
Ted Alexander – keyboards, backing vocals
Brian Island – backing vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.