HOTEL – Half Moon Silver [Rock Candy Remastered] (2018) *HQ Exclusive*

HOTEL - Half Moon Silver [Rock Candy Remastered] (2018) *HQ Exclusive* - full

Many of you asked for Rock Candy Records reissues to complete collections, so here’s one more featured for the first time here: HOTEL second and final album, 1980’s ”Half Moon Silver” digitally remastered and officially released on CD for the first time.
It’s always very uplifting when a band originally tipped for better things actually fulfills their inherent musical potential. In the case of Hotel, a little-known outfit from Birmingham Alabama, their self-titled debut album hinted at a somewhat suppressed melodic AOR talent that was itching to fully blossom.

Fortunately, that embryonic promise was perfectly realized with this, their second album, a record that has almost become a touchstone for fans of the AOR obscure. ”Half Moon Silver” is quite rightly regarded as a minor classic among AOR aficionados. Issued in 1980 and produced, once again, by their mentor Dain Eric, the album lunges purposely towards a harder rock edge.

For this second Hotel LP, the vibe is very much one of waking up the neighbors, but not in a chest thumping sense, more in a measured and intense way. The guitars are far more prominent and the rhythm section is out to impress, but they leave room for vocalist Marc Phillips to inject passion and excitement into songs that have been meticulously constructed.

There’s plenty to highlight, but it’s the double whammy of ‘A Place In Time (Refugee)’ and ‘Now That She Loves You’ that really sets the pace. Elsewhere, there are some particularly delightful ballads, including ‘Talk To Me’ and the sublime title track.
Once again, their label failed to maximize the potential of the record and, despite the band touring with Hall & Oates, the record fell sadly through the gaps, leaving them deserted in a world that, sadly, failed to recognize a seriously talented outfit.
Highly Recommended


01 – Refugee
02 – Cold Blooded Lover
03 – Now That She Loves You
04 – Ned and Ted
05 – Half Moon Silver
06 – Blind Side of Love
07 – It’s Late
08 – Wanting U 2 Many Times
09 – How It Feels
10 – Talk to Me

Marc Phillips – vocals, keyboards, guitar
Tommy Calton, Michael Reid – guitar, vocals
Lee Bargeron – keyboards, guitars, vocals
George Creasman – bass, vocals
Michael Cadenhead – drums, vocals



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Örjan says:

    But look there… I hadn’t had time to wish for these two “Hotel” yet, but 0dayrox apparently read my thoughts. 🙂 Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.