NeversiN – Revamp (2023)

NeversiN - Revamp (2023) - full

After almost twenty years of activity and several released albums, NeversiN from Italy returns with a new album called “Revamp” and with a new singer, Nicola Ciarlini. It’s a proper title for the new album as here NeversiN renew their sound by reinventing some combo classics, and showcases the skills of the new singer. As bonus, the album features their own cover versions of Pink Floyd’s ‘Comfortably Numb’ and Iron Maiden’s ‘Aces High’.
The guys in NeversiN define themselves as a classic Hard Rock band, but there’s much, much more into their intriguing compositions, including melodic hard rock, classic rock, and a progressive touch.
Alberto Quarta’s drums and Daniele Businari’s bass guitar are at many moments a silent background in what is, in contrast, a structural construction in terms of song form, in which the guitar and vocal passages are prioritized in poignant and melancholy ballads such as “Long For Love” and ” Trust”.
More hard rocking are the moments in which the two guitarists, Matteo Scalcon and Federico Fabian, move from arpeggios to riffs and solos, such as in the songs “The Stranger” and “The Tower”, which connect the story being told.

The sometimes gritty but mostly clean vocals held very high, distantly recalling the color of Bruce Dickinson in the long closing track “Part Of The Crime”, which consists of many melodic parts.
And this similarity is even more pronounced in the first of the two bonus covers, namely “Aces High”, which is interpreted very faithfully to the original; this also applies to Pink Floyd’s ageless gem “Comfortably Numb”, which is very well done.

“Revamp” is just another very good album from NeversiN. They have the rare talent to potentially appeal a wide range of listeners from hard rock, metal, progressive, and more.
Everything is polished to the extreme, the riffs sharp and melodic, the rhythm section precise – drummer Albertino Quarta is clearly influenced by Neil Peart and that’s a good thing in my book – and the lead / layered harmonies are astonishingly arranged.
Highly Recommended


01 – Jail
02 – The Stranger
03 – Southern Cross
04 – The Game We Call Life
05 – Long for Love
06 – The Tower (The Stranger Part II)
07 – Trust
08 – Part of the Crime
09 – Aces High (Iron Maiden cover)
10 – Comfortably Numb (Pink Floyd cover)

Nicola “Nick” Ciarlini – Vocals
Matteo “Skench” Scalcon – Guitars, Vocals
Federico “Sgana” Fabian – Guitars
Daniele “Hurt” Businari – Bass
Alberto “Albertino” Quarta – Drums, Percussion



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.