EXTREME – Six (2023) *HQ*

EXTREME - Six (2023) - full

Eighties staples EXTREME return in 2023 with their brand new studio album ‘SIX‘. The multi-million selling hard rockers present 12 tracks ranging from funk-tinged bangers to soaring ballads as only EXTREME can deliver. Spearheaded by the songwriting team of vocalist Gary Cherone and guitarist Nuno Bettencourt (who blessed the world with chart toppers like “More Than Words” and “Hole Hearted”), ‘SIX’ is an essential addition to EXTREME’s discography.
The album opener and first single “Rise” will immediately fire up legions of anxious fans with its signature riff. Elsewhere, “Other Side of the Rainbow” showcases EXTREME’s gift for passionate acoustic magic. EXTREME are back with ‘SIX’ – everything the fans have been waiting for.
Extreme II, aka “Pornograffitti” is one of the best rock records since 1990, hands-down. “Extreme III (Sides to Every Story)” was definitely no slouch, and the first record had some great tracks as well. It is funny that we just got done checking out Winger’s new album “Seven” when EXTREME “Six” came our way, because both bands were doing a Herculean amount of heavy lifting trying to elevate hard rock and fight the rising tides of mediocrity before both got put on ice for very similar reasons.

“Six” starts with the power and drive of ‘Rise’ then the hard-driving, hard-rocking brilliance of ‘#Rebel’ and the smooth rush of ‘Banshee’. Well that wonderful opening then leads into ‘Other Side of the Rainbow’ which as it suggests just takes you to another place entirely off the back of a beautiful refrain and inspired Nuno solo.
‘Small Town Beautiful’ takes the mood in another direction, a light and delicate acoustic number that just sweeps over you before bursting into a blossoming guitar solo, and a smooth ride out. A bass and drum groove lead into ‘The Mask’ which brings us to the half way point with a half-spoken vocal before it’s all kicked up a notch by the simmering guitars, there’s such a great groove it’s impossible not to be carried along. Nuno’s solo is just genius.

At this point you imagine flipping over the vinyl and what you get is ‘Thicker Than Blood’ which starts with a great bounce and fuzzy guitar whist Gary semi-raps the lyrics, there’s a certain metallic hypnotism to the deep groove and a touch of Living Colour. ‘Save Me’ adds a certain infectious chug as it crawls to a ‘bright blue sky’ chorus; and ‘Hurricane’ just has you drifting along with its acoustic simplicity. This is heady stuff.
‘Xout’ reconnects with that hypnotic groove and shifts in and out of shadows and penultimate track ‘Beautiful Girls’ just has that ‘island’ vibe that makes you want to get up and dance, it’s a happy song from a great album full of colour and texture.

‘Here’s to the Losers’ which closes is another slow burner of epic proportions which is simply beautiful, and man those backing vocals! Extreme have done it – created a record without a low point.
This is wonderful stuff… the complete Extreme album.


01 – Rise
02 – #Rebel
03 – Banshee
04 – Other Side of the Rainbow
05 – Small Town Beautiful
06 – The Mask
07 – Thicker Than Blood
08 – Save Me
09 – Hurricane
10 – X Out
11 – Beautiful Girls
12 – Here’s To the Losers

Gary Cherone (vocals)
Nuno Bettencourt (guitars)
Pat Badger (bass)
Kevin Figueiredo (drums)


Pre order:

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Jay says:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.