MERE MORTALS – Immortalized ’87 (remastered 2022) [CD version +1]

MERE MORTALS - Immortalized '87 [CD version +1] (remastered 2022) - full

MERE MORTALS’ origins would begin as an enigmatic progressive hard rock band on the Upstate New York club circuit named LUFTWAFFE. It was the mid-Eighties, and leader / main songwriter Robert Acquaviva (later guitarist for melodic hard rockers TOURIS) decided to take the band in a new, more adult-oriented rock direction, focusing on keyboard-driven songs with catchy hooks and harmonies. Keeping with the same line-up, the band would change their name to MERE MORTALS.
Two singles from their 1986 debut LP would receive much regional airplay that helped to create a buzz for the band. Quickly taking advantage of the hype, MERE MORTALS return to the studio three months after the release to record their follow-up ”Immortalized” released in 1987.
The album consisted of nine new songs that the band had already been performing live, now sounding much more oiled as unit and recorded with better production. This is classic mid-Eigthies Melodic Rock / AOR including lovely songs like the layered ‘Breakin’ Up’ (akin White Sister), ‘Don’t Hold Back’ (with some Night Ranger on it) or ‘Liar’, recalling the sound of Giuffria first album.
Now after decades, finally the album is being ‘Immortalized‘, reissued / remastered. Past year we featured the advanced digital release, now, as requested, here’s the CD version including bonus track.

MERE MORTALS delivered a much more polished sound & arrangements for this second LP, other highlights including ‘Can’t Stop’ with a slightly new waveish sound ala The Fixx, ‘Forever in Her Heart’ with an elegant sound inspired by Mr. Mister, and showcaseing a rocking edges as well, like in tracks such as ‘Morning Light’.

As with the debut, MERE MORTALS would receive much praise and radio play regional as well as television spots. The band would play several opening spots for national touring acts such as Patti Smyth, Benny Mardones, Taylor Dane and others in support of the release.
However, within that same year, after a member’s departure and some attempts to shift around members, MERE MORTALS would end up playing their last show, and ended as the following year began.
Highly Recommended ’80s American Melodic Rock / AOR stuff.


01 – Can’t Stop
02 – Forever in Her Heart
03 – Breakin’ Up
04 – Morning Light
05 – Don’t Hold Back
06 – Liar
07 – Pale White Stars
08 – Seems So Foolish
09 – Where did the Love Go
10 – Woman That I Know

David Paul Slife : All Lead vocals
Bob Francis : All Guitars, Vocals
Vince Cavo : Keyboards, Vocals
Bill Carman : Bass, Vocals
Tony Stone : Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.