AERIAL – The Complete Collection [2-in-1 digitally remastered]

AERIAL - The Complete Collection [2-in-1 digitally remastered] - full

As requested, here’s a lovely piece form the Canadian factory: “The Complete Collection”, a disc containing both albums from Pompster rockers AERIAL with fully remastered audio. Hailing from Toronto, AERIAL was active from 1973 to 1981 and released two full length LP’s.
Their first, 1978’s ”In The Middle Of The Night” is very Pomp oriented with the genre’s classic AOR melodies and mysterious keyboards / synths, with good use of atmospherics and dexterous multi instrumental passages. The lead singer in Aerial was Gary O’Connor, who would leave the band after this release and go on to a successful career as a songwriter as well as a solo artist under the name Gary O’.
The second album 1980’s ”Maneuvers” is much more straight AOR / Melodic Rock, with pumping tunes such as the hit ‘Up In The Air’ including killer synth stabs all over.

Aerial toured the U.S. and Canada and by 1977 were signed by – at the time – the little known record label started up by Rush, called Anthem Records, securing a U.S. release via Capitol Records.
While not released as a single, the title track ‘In The Middle Of The Night’ shows off the two sides of the band. One being their ability to craft perfect pop melodies, as well as their Pompy AOR / progressive rock side.

Their second release on Anthem, 1980’s ”Maneuvers” saw Gary O’ replaced with Tim White on vocals, resulting a proper fit for the more commercial nature of the songs. This album is quite unknown for early ’80s AOR fans, you’ll be surprised by the quality of the songs.

The Aerial discography was a difficult find until Canadian label MaGaDa Heritage International released this ”The Complete Collection”, both albums for the fist time on CD (a disc not easy to find nowadays).
Although there are no in-depth liner notes with this set, this release is a welcome reissue of some sought after and hard to find Canadian rock music that has been unavailable for many years.
HIGHLY Recommended


1978 – In The Middle Of The Night
1. Harmony
2. In The Middle Of The Night
3. Easy Love
4. All Right
5. If Only I Were Older
6. Indispensable Thomas Hensible
7. Race The Sun
8. You’ve Got A Way
9. Gypsy Face
1980 – Maneuvers
10. Moments Like This
11. Backslider
12. Up In The Air
13. Carmella
14. Singer On The Airwaves
15. Make It With You
16. Cold War Love
17. Tears That You Cry
18. All Of The Love
19. Burn This Town

Gary O’Connor (vocals, guitar)
Malcolm Buchanan (keyboards)
Brian Meissner (bass, guitar)
Laurie Currie (drums, vocals)
Tim White (vocals, guitar)


Sold out / Out of print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.