ALIAS – Never Say Never (recorded 1992 but shelved) [Canadian Edition] (2009) *HQ*

ALIAS - Never Say Never (recorded 1992 but shelved) [Canadian Edition] (2009) *HQ* - lossless full

The songs on this album were written & recorded in 1991/1992 and should have been part of the second album from AORsters ALIAS. Unfortunately a new rock genre was in focus for record companies, and these tracks were shelved. The tapes have been doing the rounds for years on various boots of varying quality, but some years ago finally were properly remastered and officially released under the title “Never Say Never
Formed by ex members of Sheriff and Heart, the band’s debut album received rave reviews and has become a melodic rock / AOR classic. This second LP that never was back in the day could have cemented Alias popularity.
But “Never Say Never”, and while some tracks popped up on vocalist Freddy Curci’s solo album and a couple appeared on ‘Rude Awakening’ – James Christian (House Of Lords) solo album, including the awesome ‘Please And Pain’ – it’s great to have the chance to hear the original Alias takes with a finely remastered sound quality.
This is the Canadian CD release of “Never Say Never”, which has a different bonus tack than the European pressing.

Alias were always good at midpaced rockers / ballads and this album has some gems like ‘Give Me A Reason’, with the added strings making for a big production feel. ‘Diamonds’ is another mellow moment that allow Curci’s voice to take center stage backed by some nimble acoustic guitar playing.
The band put a touch of blues rock on ‘The Warden’ (another song recorded by James Christian) which adds nicely to the album’s overall mix.
‘Play Me A Song’ sounds uncannily like Queen at times especially the backbeat – ‘We Will Rock You’ anyone? Good tune. Not every song is top draw, like ‘Wild Wild One’ as example, which is just a bit generic with the gang backing vocals.

Full marks to EMI Music Canada for getting this music finally properly released and with added bonus songs as well. It is an album that if it came out when it was supposed to back in the early 90s would have been raved about if that pesky thing called grunge didn’t get in the way.
If you loved the band’s debut you will certainly enjoy this album big time.
Highly Recommended


01 – Woman Enough
02 – XTCOI
03 – How Much Longer Is Forever
04 – Give Me A Reason To Stay
05 – Wild Wild One
06 – Pleasure And Pain
07 – The Warden
08 – Bare Necessity
09 – All I Want Is You
10 – Call Of The Wild
11 – Diamonds
12 – Play Me A Song
13 – We Want It All
14 – Perfect World {Bonus Track}
15 – Into The Fire {Bonus Track}
16 – Who Do You Think You Are {Bonus Track}
17 – When I’m With You (Acoustic Version) {Bonus Track}

Freddy Curci – Vocals
Steve DeMarchi – Guitars
Marco Mendoza – Bass
Robert O’Hearn – Keyboards
Dennis DeMarchi – Keyboards
Larry Aberman – Drums


out of print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.