GREAT WHITE – Psycho City [Bad Reputation / Axe Killer remaster +4] Out Of Print

GREAT WHITE - Psycho City [Bad Reputation / Axe Killer remaster +4] full

We have been featuring here several remastered reissues done by French label Bad Reputation / Axe Killer, known for their ‘Collector Series / Remastered with Bonus’ releases, with the main attraction being the addition of a bonus tracks or bonus disc, making these reissues the ‘definitive expanded versions’. In a Rock Candy Records fashion, these are official remasters in arrangement with the original recording companies.
Here’s another request from the label, “Psycho City“, GREAT WHITE‘s last album for major company Capitol, fully digitally remastered and including 4 bonus tracks, all much sought after songs previously unavailable on CD except on extremely rare singles or high priced imports.

Great White toured with Guns N’ roses, hit the charts, and enjoyed massive popularity. However substance abuse from the band members started to make its mark between ’em, and the advent of grunge didn’t help.
In 1992, Great White would make one more record for Capitol, “Psycho City”, and despite all troubles arising, this is probably the band’s best.
This album rocks consistently from beginning to end with a tremendous pulsating groove, strong riffs, and powerful vocals.

GREAT WHITE - Psycho City [Bad Reputation / Axe Killer remaster +4] booklet

“Psycho City” is mature Great White, earthy, pure classic rock.
There’s not a single weak track here, and you are hooked from the first note of opener title track ‘Psycho City’ and followed by the rocker ‘Step On You’, the bluesy gem ‘Old Rose Motel’ – one of the greatest Great White songs ever – and the slow burner ballad ‘Maybe Someday’
These first four songs alone, make this album worthwhile.

The rest is just about as good, with ‘Big Goodbye’ being another excellent tune, ‘Doctor Me’ a terrific midtempo that reminds me of the band’s early works, the very Zeppelin / Kingdom Come ‘I Want You’, an d the fun and punchy ‘Never Trust a Pretty Face’.
The atmosphere of ‘Love Is A Lie’ is just superb, and they end with the really good semi-ballad ‘Get On Home’, which always made me think about Tesla.

GREAT WHITE - Psycho City [Bad Reputation / Axe Killer remaster +4] back

The bonus tracks are great, including hard rocking B-Side ‘Somebody To Love’, the heavy blues of ‘Driving Your Plane (Short Version)’, the kick @ass ‘Who’s Livin’ On Rock ‘N’ Roll’, and the acoustically driven cowboy-song ‘Wasted Rock Ranger’, a 1989 B-side that later became a fan favorite.
Definitely one of Great white best works – if not the best, “Psycho City” needs a slot in your collection, and this pristine and punchy remaster is the one to get. Not easy, as it was a numbered limited edition with copies being sold at Amazon for 180 Euros right now.
HIGHLY Recommended


01 – Psycho City
02 – Step On You
03 – Old Rose Motel
04 – Maybe Someday
05 – Big Goodbye
06 – Doctor Me
07 – I Want You
08 – Never Trust A Pretty Face
09 – Love Is A Lie
10 – Get On Home
11 – Somebody To Love
12 – Who’s Driving Your Plane (Short Version)
13 – Livin’ On Rock ‘N’ Roll
14 – Wasted Rock Ranger

Jack Russell – lead and backing vocals
Mark Kendall – guitar, backing vocals
Michael Lardie – guitar, keyboards, percussion, backing vocals
Audie Desbrow – drums
additional musicians:
Dave “The Beast” Spitz – bass
Richie Gajate Garcia – percussion
Rick Brewster – guitar
Alan Niven – backing vocals, percussion


Out of Print – Try Here:

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. JAy says:

    Awesome Thnx!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.