TONY MITCHELL – Radio Heartbeat (2023) *HQ*

TONY MITCHELL - Radio Heartbeat (2023) *HQ* - full

TONY MITCHELL releases his 4th official solo album “Radio Heartbeat” via Pride & Joy Music, another wonderful melodic rock journey.
Tony says: “I always like to challenge & better myself for every new album that I release and this was no exception. Out of the 17 songs that I wrote for this album, I whittled it down to 12 tracks as I thought it was enough and thought that the songs flowed really well. I have literally thrown the kitchen sink at this one and gave it my absolute all along with an awesome line-up of amazing musicians. ‘Radio Heartbeat’ is an album that I am so proud of and hope that it stands the test of time and can be amongst people’s album collections and playlists for years to come.”
Do yourself a favor and get ”Radio Heartbeat” without delay. This opus is an indispensable addition to any discerning music lover’s collection. While based on the classic Melodic Rock / AOR sound & style, Mitchell‘s artistry knows no bounds, and his latest offering is a testament to his exceptional talent.
Prepare to be captivated, moved, and transported to a realm, where music reigns supreme. ”Radio Heartbeat” is a true melodic masterpiece that will undoubtedly leave an indelible mark on your heart.

The burning question on my mind was whether ‘Radio Heartbeat‘ could live up to the lofty standards set by its illustrious predecessor ‘Hot Endless Summer Night‘. The resounding answer, my friends, is an emphatic YES!
From the moment the needle caresses the vinyl groove (a nostalgic reference for the younger generation), it becomes abundantly clear that this album is an absolute triumph in every respect.

Prepare to embark on a mesmerizing journey through the realms of super smooth and impeccably polished AOR with ‘Radio Heartbeat‘. Tony Mitchell, in his characteristic fashion, delivers an awe-inspiring performance, with his passionate vocals instantly recognizable and dripping with emotion.
Not content with merely lending his voice, Tony showcases his instrumental prowess by skillfully playing the guitars and keyboards. In this endeavor, he is accompanied by a stellar line-up featuring Miles Meakin on lead guitars and backing vocals, Nigel Bailey on bass guitar and backing vocals, and Eddie Antony on drums and backing vocals.
Together, they create a musical synergy that elevates the album to lofty heights.

The album bursts into life with the opening track, ‘Blue Lighting‘, a poignant homage to the immortal Frankie Miller. This towering statement of intent sees Tony pour his heart and soul into crafting a loving tribute to the great man. Boasting a captivating chorus, it serves as a truly remarkable introduction to the musical opus that lies ahead.
And just when you think it couldn’t get any better, ‘Keep The Love Alive‘ sweeps you off your feet. This anthemic gem possesses such universal appeal that had it been penned for the likes of Robbie Williams, it would undoubtedly have become a worldwide hit. Backed by a glorious choir, Tony delivers an impassioned performance, while the chorus itself emerges as an absolute monster, an epitome of perfection.

The title track, ‘Radio Heartbeat‘, exudes the essence of a classic summer anthem. It beckons you to cruise in an open-top car, basking in the warm embrace of nostalgia and feel-good vibes. The lyrics, at once endearing and timeless, are masterfully woven together to create an enchanting tapestry of musical bliss.
As the journey continues, ‘Rockin’ In A Hard Place‘ takes centre stage, a foot-stomping, hip-shaking mid-paced rocker that exudes irresistible energy. Yet the true marvel lies in ‘Top Of The World‘, a piano-led slow-burner that gradually builds into a monumental chorus, leaving you in utter awe.

‘Another Beat Of My Heart‘ ensnares you with its confident and upbeat rock sensibilities, serving as a celebratory ode to love. With a scorching guitar solo and Tony’s richly backed vocals, this track is a testament to his remarkable song-writing talent.
‘Darkness Remains‘ takes the intensity up a notch with its rip-roaring rock elements, showcasing Tony’s ability to effortlessly craft such explosive numbers. ‘This Side Of Midnight‘ oozes with a smoothness that could easily have sprung from the creative mind of Steve Overland during FM’s ‘Indiscreet’ or ‘Tough It Out’ era. Its allure is irresistible, captivating your senses completely.

Prepare to be transported back to the heyday of AOR and melodic rock with ‘Borderline‘. While the song evokes a sense of familiarity, reminiscent of classics from the late ’80s, its magnificence remains indescribable. It boasts yet another unforgettable chorus and a tantalizing guitar solo that leaves you craving more.
‘Sunflower Girl‘ graces us with its joyous composition and effortless groove, while the infectious chorus reinforces its irresistible charm. Personally, this track holds a special place in my heart; I simply adore it.

‘Find A Way‘ takes us on a breath-taking journey, with its opening lyric “love is a drug in a world of hate” serving as a poignant reflection of the turbulent times in which we live. Amidst introspection, it offers a resounding message of hope that resonates deeply.
And as our voyage through ‘Radio Heartbeat‘ draws to a close, ‘Phoenix Rising‘ ignites the airwaves with its balls-to-the-wall rock energy. Strangely reminiscent of Boston jamming with Iron Maiden, this explosive finale leaves no room for doubt. Featuring a chorus that will reverberate in your soul, it is a magnificent climax to this extraordinary album.

Tony Mitchell’s “Radio Heartbeat” is the real deal – this is AOR / Melodic Rock for the 2020’s, inspired by the classic era of the genre but firmly planted into today, relevant good rock music.


1. Blue Lightning
2. Keep The Love Alive
3. Radio Heartbeat
4. Rockin’ In A Hard Place
5. Top Of The World
6. Another Beat Of My Heart
7. Darkness Remains
8. This Side Of Midnight
9. Borderline
10. Sunflower Girl
11. Find A Way
12. Phoenix Rising

Tony Mitchell (lead vocals, guitar, keyboards)
Miles Meakin (lead guitar, backing vocals)
Nigel Bailey (bass, backing vocals)
Eddy Antony (drums, backing vocals)


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.