BLACK SABBATH (w/ Tony Martin) – Headless In Osaka ’89 (2023)

BLACK SABBATH (w/ Tony Martin) - Headless In Osaka '89 (2023) - full

BLACK SABBATH album ‘Headless Cross’ appeared in April 1989, and following the release, the band including Tony Iommi, Cozy Powell, long-time keyboardist Geoff Nicholls and vocalist Tony Martin, added bassist Neil Murray (ex Whitesnake) for The Headless Cross U.S. tour which began in May ‘89 with openers Kingdom Come and Silent Rage, but because of poor ticket sales, the tour was cancelled after just eight shows.
The European leg began in September, where the band were enjoying chart success. After a string of Japanese shows the band embarked on a 23 date Russian tour with Girlschool. Black Sabbath was one of the first bands to tour Russia, after Mikhail Gorbachev opened the country to western acts for the first time in 1989.
Of the Japanese shows, by far the finest was Sabbath’s 19th October ‘89 gig in Osaka, an event recorded for live FM radio broadcast across the country.
Headless In Osaka” captures this strong performance, a bootleg released last year with a very good sound quality. The CD also includes 5 tracks from a 1995 show recorded in Sweden, 1995.


01 – Headless Cross
02 – Neon Knights
03 – Mob Rules
04 – Tommy Iommi Guitar Intro
05 – Black Sabbath
06 – Iron Man
07 – Children Of The Grave
08 – Heaven And Hell
09 – Paranoid
10 – The Shining
11 – The Wizard
12 – War Pigs
13 – Rusty Angels
14 – I Won’t Cry For You

Tony Martin – vocals
Tony Iommi – guitar
Cozy Powell – drums
Geoff Nicholls – keys
Neil Murray – bass

Tracks 1-9: Festival Hall, Osaka, Japan 1989
Tracks 10-14: Bellevueparken, Karlshamn, Sweden, 1995



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.