THORNBRIDGE – Daydream Illusion (2024)

THORNBRIDGE - Daydream Illusion (2024) - full

After eight years in the business and two albums still looking for their sound, on their upcoming third album titled “Daydream Illusion” Germans THORNBRIDGE finally push all right buttons. And what an album it is: if you like melodic, catchy European power metal, then you must make sure to get your hands on this CD.
Everything is in place here. The vocals are strong and contribute wonderful melodies. The guitar work is top notch, giving us both solid riffs and compelling leads. The bass anchors everything down, and the drums are executed flawlessly. The production also deserves note, as everything is crisp and clear, with the appropriate sonic space given to each part.
But what really makes Daydream Illusion such a worthwhile listen is the varied, strong songwriting.

After a brief intro titled “Come on in!” that sounds like a carnival piece, we kick off with the title track. This song boasts a great riff and good use of double-kick. The verses are catchy and the chorus big, immediate.
“Kingdom of Starlight” follows with more fine riffing. The song is structured quite well, showing Thornbridge’s compositional skills. The verses are worthy of note, and the chorus is nothing short of sing-along in style. The lead work here stands out, as well.
Kicking up the intensity is “I Am the Storm.” The riff work remains excellent and the bridge features a super catchy sing-along section. “Sacrifice” begins with a thrashier riff before a delectable power metal riff kicks in. Speedy, but the chorus is hooky as Hell. Great lead work can be found here, too.

A killer squealing riff drives “Island of My Memories.” The chorus is nothing short of lovely. “Send Me a Light” boasts a lovely piano melody and a powerful chorus. This is how a power metal ballad should sound. Classic guitar licks and vocal melodies drive “Bird of Salvation,” and I mean that in a good way. It’s hard for me to see any fan of the genre being disappointed with songs like this.

The band kicks up the intensity a bit for “Final War.” Nevertheless, the song remains supremely catchy. The pre-chorus is excellent and the chorus will put your fist on the ear. The album concludes with “Lost on the Dark Side”, a song mixing atmospheres, electric and acoustic guitar in the mix plus melodic vocals all over.

Production is fantastic, as performances are across the board. As said, songwriting is excellent overall, with entertaining lyrics telling a story about a mental asylum patient and the imaginary world within his mind. There are points where the story can be dark and melancholic, as it speaks about the protagonist and the grim reality he faces, but the music remains upbeat, melodic and very fun the whole way through.
Any power metal fan looking for a well written, melodic, guitar driven album with bursts of heaviness should also give this album a shot.
Highly Recommended


1. Come On In!
2. Daydream Illusion
3. Kingdom of Starlight
4. I Am the Storm
5. Sacrifice
6. Island of My Memories
7. Send Me A Light
8. Bird of Salvation
9. Final War
10. My Last Desire
11. Lost On the Darkside

Jorg “Mo” Naneder – Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Piano, Keyboards
Patrick “Pat” Rogalski – Rhythm and Lead Guitars
Nils Kreul – Drums


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.