ST. JAMES – Resurgence (2017)

ST. JAMES - Resurgence (2017) full

Melodic hard rockers ST. JAMES are set to release their debut album “Resurgence” via Sleaszy Rider Records tomorrow.
Back in the ‘90s, The Rod’s drummer / producer Carl Canedy was part of a band based in New Haven, Connecticut, baptized St. James. The group featured vocalist John James and brothers Robert Jacobs and James Jacobs on bass and guitar, respectively.
This lineup recorded several songs that grew to a large collection of songs over time. The band played live shows with a different drummer, but never got to tour with Canedy due to his schedule as an in-demand producer.
They also never released the songs properly – until now.

So, the aptly titled ”Resurgence” it’s a 17-track collection taped by St. James back in the early ’90s. Regarding the cache of songs, Canedy remarked, “I listened to a bunch of the songs and felt like this stuff was just too good to never be released. The writing, the playing, the production, even after all this time they still hold up.”

The songs feature big vocal hooks and tons of swagger. Make no mistake, while the late ‘80s hard rock, metal and melodic rock influences can be heard, St. James is a band with its own unique sound.
The album opens with the powerful “Attitude”, which punches you in the face from the beginning. The Bang Tango-ish “Worth Fighting For” follows with a pulsing bass riff from Robert. James Jacobs’ guitar squeals and John James’ amazing voice raise this song to another level.

The Bon Jovi-flavored “This Distance” is next, with a big hooky chorus. You just don’t hear the confidence that a song like “Let It Rain” preaches much anymore. If you’re feeling down, this song will give you a boost.
There is a playful prance in “What’s Your Situation?” that keeps your head nodding. “The Road” is one of the best songs on the album, featuring some George Lynch–style guitar riffs.
The ballad “Castles In The Sand” is another winner, featuring harmony vocals galore.

“Somewhere Between Here And There” is another bright spot as well, featuring upbeat vocals from James. “In Your Heart” is a good example of the emotional, hooky tracks that are on Resurgence. Along with “Ain’t It Sad”, a bluesier number featuring acoustic guitar and harmonica, this song (and many other ones like “Princess Of Pain”), could have been legitimate hit songs back in the day.

ST. JAMES - Resurgence (2017) back

Overall, this is an impressive collection that has finally seen the light of day with this remastering twenty-five years later.
Had ”Resurgence” been released back in the early Nineties, I’m pretty sure it’d be enjoying at least a cult classic status these days.
With a little luck and a major deal, they might have scored a hit or two with some of these songs. Bear in mind that in 1991 the tide was already turning and the flannel invasion was right around the corner…

With 17 songs at an hour long, ”Resurgence” delivers a bunch of darn fine rockers too good to let sit on the shelf forever.
Strong material that should appeal to fans of Dokken, Bon Jovi, Cinderella, Bang Tango, etc. Additionally, I love the album cover featuring a slick logo typical from the era created by the Belgian artist Eric Philippe (TNT, The Rods, Overland, Coldspell).
Arena hard rock with a late ’80s / early ’90s feel.
A fantastic release!

1. Attitude
2. Worth Fighting For
3. This Distance
4. Let It Rain
5. What’s Your Situation
6. The Road
7. Rattled Bad
8. Castles in the Sand
9. Shelter Me
10. Somewhere Between Here and There
11. Toughest I can Take
12. In Your Heart
13. Ain’t It Sad
14. Princess of Pain
15. Crimes of the Heart
16. Inside The Outside
17. Fluffy Through The Hoop

John James – Lead Vocals and Harmonica
James Jacobs – Guitars and Mandolin
Robert Jacobs – Bass
Carl Canedy (The Rods) – Drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.