SOUTHGANG – ‘Tainted Angel’ [Bad Reputation remastered] + Ltd bonus CD ‘Live In Heaven’ (2022) HQ *Exclusive*

SOUTHGANG - 'Tainted Angel' [Bad Reputation remastered] + Ltd bonus CD 'Live In Heaven' (2022) HQ *Exclusive* full

Now we feature in exclusive the Bad Reputation Records reissue – remastered for the first time – of SOUTHGANG first album “Tainted Angel” from 1991. With the first 300 orders, Bad Reputation Records gave for free a bonus CD, “Live In Heaven ’91“, originally sold at the band’s shows only. This double-CD package is already sold out.
Formed in Rome, Georgia, in 1988 and originally going by the name Byte The Bullet, it wasn’t long before Jesse Harte (vocals), Butch Walker (guitar), Jayce Fincher (bass) and drummer Mitch McLee headed to the bright lights of L.A.’s Sunset Strip. Within a year of their arrival the band was headlining, garnering major label interest and making the decision to change their moniker from Byte The Bullet to Southgang.
Southgang had been taken under the wing of Desmond Child (after being introduced by Ratt), the legendary 80s song doctor consequently contributing a great deal to the group’s songwriting.
Hence, “Tainted Angel” sounds similar in many respects to Firehouse, Slaughter, Warrant, etc, but with some chief differences – a talent for merging various Hard Rock styles and grooves, then creating intriguing song arrangements and catchy choruses, and finally employing slick studio wankery and trickery for added spice and zest.
”Tainted Angel” is a slick, polished hair metal album plus a bluesy swagger with impressive vocals courtesy of Jesse Harte. This fresh remaster sounds incredible.

With a slamming rhythm section in bassist Jayce Fincher and drummer Mitch McLee, a wickedly wild guitarist in Butch Walker, and a powerful and wide-ranging lead singer in Jesse Harte, SouthGang seemed to have everything going for it, including aid from Desmond Child, Jeff “Skunk” Baxter (Steely Dan/Doobie Brothers), and Kane Roberts (Alice Cooper), who aided the band either during the songwriting, recording, and production processes.

This was no “cookie cutter hair band” of the era, but a group that had not only big-time support, but mastery over its instruments. Plus, the musicians also had a knack for incorporating numerous surprises into each song, whether it be unexpected rhythm breaks or key changes, inventive drum, bass, or guitar fills, or the addition of a brass section, harmonica and cowbells, light Hammond organ and honky-tonk piano, acoustic and slide guitar and the aforementioned talk-box, even one instance of female background vocals, all giving SouthGang that “unpredictable factor” that set it apart from its contemporaries.
And with the ultra-catchy choruses, a budding “guitar hero” in its midst, the overall energetic performances and rowdy atmosphere, and slick yet robust studio production, the band truly seemed destined for greatness.

Southgang was a great band, much more than a hair metal act adding strong songwriting and superb musicianship to the cocktail. This is a really welcome remastering / reissue for this overlooked album. The bonus CD was provided by the band itself; it’s in a bootleg quality however enough to taste how good & hot Southgang were performing live.
HIGHLY Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


Tainted Angel [Bad Reputation remastered]
01 – Boys Nite Out
02 – Love For Sale
03 – Georgia Lights
04 – Love Ain’t Enough
05 – She’s Danger City / Seven Hills Saloon
06 – Tainted Angel
07 – Big City Woman
08 – Shoot Me Down
09 – Russian Roulette
10 – Aim For The Heart
11 – Groove Bucket


Bonus CD with first 300 orders: Live In Heaven ’91
01 – Boys Nite Out (Live)
02 – Love For Sale (Live)
03 – Shoot Me Down (Live)
04 – Georgia Lights (Live)
05 – Love Ain’t Enough (Live)
06 – Big City Woman (Live)
07 – Russian Roulette (Live)
08 – Tainted Angel (Live)
09 – She’s Danger City (Live)
10 – Rock and Roll Band (Live)

Jesse Harte – lead vocals
Butch Walker – guitars, backing vocals
Jayce Fincher – bass
Mitch McLee – drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.