GREAT WHITE – Hooked + Live In New York [Bad Reputation 2xCD remastered] (2021) *0dayrox EXCLUSIVE*

GREAT WHITE - Hooked + Live In New York [Bad Reputation 2xCD remastered] (2021) *0dayrox EXCLUSIVE* full

To celebrate its 30th anniversary, great reissue label Bad Reputation has just put out their remastered, 2-CD version of GREAT WHITE‘s celebrated 1991 album “Hooked“, including as bonus disc the terrific “Live In New York” recorded at Electric Lady studios on May 31, 1991, originally only released in Japan.
Time flies… 2021 marks 30 years of the release of GREAT WHITE’s ”Hooked” album with its controversial or at least provocative cover. The original album cover art was shot by famous fashion photographer John Scarpati and featured a nude female model being hoisted out of the sea by a large hook. This cover was judged too risque by the label and replaced by art director Hugh Syme shortly after the initial pressing with an alternative that had the hook still below the sea level and the model partially submerged, so that only her head and arms were visible.
A classic GREAT WHITE, for many their best album, and the “Live In New York” captured the same year shows the band at its prime, now all with a very good remastered sound.

Brilliantly produced by Alan Niven and Michael Lardie, “Hooked” is the best sounding Great White album in my humble opinion. Musically it’s also the most varied in the band’s history.
To their characteristic bluesy hard rock Great White added this time some kind of a stadium vibe, trying to capitalize Damn Yankees’ success, I guess. Just listen ‘The Original Queen Of Sheba’ (a highlight).
This is true rockin’ album, but, also shows how much Great White had grown.

When it was released (1991) right in the middle of the alternative phase-in / Hairbands phase-out period, I was surprised how diverse “Hooked” was. There were the typical straight-forward rockers like ‘Call It Rock N’ Roll’, ‘Desert Moon’ or the catchy ‘Can’t Shake It’, but there was more.
‘Lovin Kind’ has a piano line which move towards more acoustic guitars and solid songwriting essence, proving that Great White did not wanted to a be a one trick pony. Then ‘South Bay Cities’ is unbelievably bright and refreshing.

‘Heartbreaker’ is a hard rocker, yes, but with a different approach. It’s a long, elaborated grower of a song with terrific harmonies and some kind of special atmosphere. Then ‘Afterglow’ is another fine ballad from Great White, crafted in the way they only can.
Regarding ‘Live In New York’, it sounds great, performed in from of a small audience, ‘live into the studio’ indeed, with a pristine sound quality free of noises.
Great reissue / remaster by BR.

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


Disc I
‘Hooked’ remastered
01 – Call It Rock N’ Roll
02 – The Original Queen Of Sheba
03 – Cold Hearted Lovin’
04 – Can’t Shake It
05 – Lovin’ Kind
06 – Heartbreaker
07 – Congo Square
08 – South Bay Cities
09 – Desert Moon
10 – Afterglow

Disc II
‘Live In New York’ remastered
01 – Intro (Live)
02 – Train To Nowhere (Live)
03 – Cold Hearted Lovin’ (Live)
04 – The Hunter (Live)
05 – Desert Moon (Live)
06 – Band Intro’s (Live)
07 – Weak Brain And Narrow Mind (Live)
08 – Rock Me (Live)
09 – Down At The Doctor (Live)
10 – Can’t Shake It (Live)
11 – Once Bitten Twice Shy (Live)

Jack Russell – lead and backing vocals
Mark Kendall – guitars, backing vocals
Michael Lardie – guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
Tony Montana – bass
Audie Desbrow – drums
additional musicians:
Alan Niven – backing vocals, producer, arrangements
Michael Thompson – guitar solo on 3 / Disc I
Simone Shook, Terry Sasser – backing vocals



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. DDT says:

    Thanks !

  2. Frank says:

    Thank You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.