MIDNIGHT (Crimson Glory) – Through Oceans Of Space (2023) HQ *0dayrox Exclusive*


On July 8th, 2009, Florida’s metal scene lost a pivotal vocalist. John Patrick Jr. McDonald, best known as MIDNIGHT, while fronting the classic line up of Crimson Glory, would pass away from a brain aneurysm at age 47.
Under such circumstances, the chances of newer material surfacing later on is usually slim. However, 2023, just one day shy of his commemoration and much to the delight of fans, Conquest Music Inc announced the release of a posthumous full-length solo album, “Through Oceans Of Space“.
The 12-song album is a collection of covers that showcases an impressive range, from classic hard rock to contemporary rock&pop, based on favorites of Midnight and suggestions from fans.
“Through Oceans of Space” was completed over two years, from 2007 to 2009, in collaboration with Monstrosity drummer Lee Harrison. Initially, it was part of a larger body of work between the two, alongside Matt LaPorte, who played guitar in Jon Oliva’s Pain as well as Midnight’s solo band. LaPorte, who would pass away two years after Midnight, is featured as one of several guests throughout the album.
“Through Oceans of Space” is only availble on physical format.

Midnight began his storied career in the mid 80s with progressive metal titans Crimson Glory, recording and touring with the outfit until the group parted ways in 1991. After a self-imposed exile, Midnight came back to the music world in 2001 with an acoustic recording “M” and followed with a full length called “Sakada” in 2005.
In 2007, Midnight began a new collaboration with the aforementioned Harrison and LaPorte and started work on a discography of material, including this collection.
Unfortunately, in 2009, Midnight passed away along with LaPorte passing not long after in 2011.

Created between 2007 and 2009, the recording was produced by Harrison and Midnight. Mastering was handled at the world famous Morrisound Recording in Tampa, Florida with Jim Morris.
Music on the disc features classic gems which were Midnight favorites as well as fan suggestions.

Now Conquest Music unveils the unreleased covers album “Through Oceans Of Space”. Lee Harrison had this to say regarding the release: “I was hoping to have this work finished sooner but I wanted it to be just right and finally all the pieces of the puzzle are complete.
I wish Midnight and Matt LaPorte were here to see and hear the finished product, but I know they would be glad that it is finally available for the fans to have in their hands. The plan was to have this out two years ago but several issues made it impossible. There were manufacturing issues and rights issues to be cleared, but it’s done, and it really turned out stellar. ”

“Through Oceans Of Space” is available physically in an exclusive silver CD box, as well as two distinct vinyl record prints – green with a swirl, and clear with a red splatter. (contributors get lossless today)
HIGHLY Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


01 – Going To California (Led Zeppelin cover)
02 – Coming Home (Scorpions cover)
03 – The Mob Rules (Black Sabbath cover)
04 – Sleeping In The Fire (WASP cover)
05 – The Thin Ice (Pink Floyd cover)
06 – The Battle Of Evermore (Led Zeppelin cover)
07 – When The Levee Breaks (Led Zeppelin cover)
08 – Possession (Sarah McLachlan cover)
09 – Lightning Crashes (Live cover)
10 – Hey There, Delilah (Plain White T’s cover)
11 – One (U2 cover)
12 – Angel (Sarah McLachlan cover)

Lead Vocals – Midnight
Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Mandolin, Piano – Matt LaPorte (tracks: 6, 7, 8, 10)
Drums, Bass, Guitar, Keyboards – Lee Harrison
Guitar – Justin Walker (tracks: 3, 4), Matt Barnes (track: 5)
Keyboards – Zane Black (tracks: 1, 3, 5, 7)
Keyboards, Piano – Alex Staropoli (track: 12)



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Rudio says:

    The other day I watched on Youtube a review of the 2024 Deep Purple’s Machine Head box.
    They raved especially about the “Dweezel Zappa remix part” of the box. Also included is a very interesting previously unreleased live concert “MONTREUX ’71”. Assumebly released on march 30.
    As a request: Hopefully you will post it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.