MICHAEL McDONALD – If That’s What It Takes [Japan SHM-CD AOR Best Selection 1300]

MICHAEL McDONALD - If That's What It Takes [Japan SHM-CD AOR Best Selection 1300] full

As requested, here’s in exclusive “If That’s What It Takes”, the other MICHAEL McDONALD album released as part of the Warner Music Japan ‘AOR Best Selection 1300’ reissue series.
For this, McDonald’s solo debut, the ‘who’s who’ from the legendary LA Session is present: half-Toto in Steve Lukather and Mike & Jeff Porcaro, Robben Ford, Greg Phillinganes, Michael Omartian, and more.

As the lead singer of The Doobie Brothers from 1975-1980, Michael McDonald’s soulful voice and skilled writing gave the group classics like “Minute by Minute,” “Real Love,” and the perfect “What a Fool Believes.” After the group’s 1980 album One Step Closer displayed a tension that was almost audible, it was no surprise that a split was in the works.

1982’s “If That’s What It Takes” is McDonald’s first solo effort, and was recorded at the great recording studios like Warner Bros. and Sunset Sound and was co-produced by Ted Templeman and Lenny Waronker.
The album’s biggest hit, the moody and sleek “I Keep Forgettin’,” continues McDonald’s unflinching look at heartbreak, and it is more West Coast AOR influenced than the previous Doobie Brothers work.

The buoyant “I Gotta Try,” co-written by Kenny Loggins, perfectly captures the early-’80s L.A. sound, and Lukather’s guitar work excells.
While McDonald’s pop acumen is no surprise, the album also offers McDonald the chance to do ballads.
The poignant and spare “I Can Let Go Now” has some of his best lyrics. “Losin End,” which first appeared on 1976’s Takin’ It to the Streets, gets recast as an even bleaker rumination with a suitably sorrowful sax solo from Tom Scott.
The melodically complex “Believe in It” has McDonald doing some great, offhanded gospel-tinged vocals, and again, Lukather shine in the instrumentation.

It had always been clear Michael would make his own way. He completely changed The Doobie Brothers when he joined them. His unique blend of West Coast AOR / Rhythm & Blues and pop ballads perfectly fits the American ’82 sound of these genres, immaculate in production design.
“If That’s What It Takes” never has been remastered, but the clarity and dynamic range of this first time on SHM-CD makes a big difference with the previous versions.
Highly Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


AOR Best Selection 1300SHM-CD

01 – Playin’ By The Rules
02 – I Keep Forgettin’ (Every Time You’re Near)
03 – Love Lies
04 – I Gotta Try
05 – I Can Let Go Now
06 – That’s Why
07 – If That’s What It Takes
08 – No Such Luck
09 – Losin’ End
10 – Believe in It

Michael McDonald – vocals, Fender Rhodes, synths, piano
Steve Lukather – guitar (2, 4, 6, 8, 10)
Robben Ford – guitar solo (6, 7)
Dean Parks – guitar (1, 3, 7, 9), guitar overdubs (8)
Greg Phillinganes – keyboards
Michael Boddicker – additional synthesizer (4)
Michael Omartian – Fender Rhodes (6, 8)
Willie Weeks – bass guitar (1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10)
Louis Johnson – bass guitar (2)
Mike Porcaro – bass guitar (6, 8)
Steve Gadd – drums (1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10)
Jeff Porcaro – drums (2, 6, 8)
Lenny Castro – percussion (1, 6, 7, 8, 10)
Paulinho Da Costa – percussion (3, 4)
Ted Templeman – percussion (4)
Edgar Winter – saxophone solo (1, 10)
Tom Scott – saxophone solo (6), Lyricon solo (9)
Kenny Loggins, Christopher Cross, Amy Holland, Brenda Russell, Kathy Walker, Ed Sanford – backing vocals



You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. AOR Fan says:

    Thanks again for this!

  2. Cody Sill says:

    Thank you from me too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.