RESCUE – Rescue +4 [AOR Blvd Collector Series Vol.1] (2022) *0dayrox Exclusive*

RESCUE - Rescue +4 [AOR Blvd Collector Series Vol.1] (2022) *0dayrox Exclusive* full

And here’s little gem from the glory ’80s AOR/Pomp era, RESCUE‘s self-titled album “Rescue” for decades out of print and now reissued, remastered and augmented with 4 unreleased tracks as bonus by AOR Blvd Records, the Vol.1 from their new ‘Collector Series’.
Hailing from Kiel, Germany, RESCUE was formed in ’86 and got the chance for this full length album at end of that decade, released 1989. However the songs were written / recorded earlier, and their sound & style is pure 1984-85, pompy synth-driven, and plenty of wonderful AOR melodies.

A reverb-rich drum intro delivers us the opener ‘Don’t Call Me Crazy’, a 1st AVENUE-like workout complete with a powerful sound to boot. Impressed after round one? You betcha! ‘Face To Face’ leads us in a Talk Of The Town direction, and even with the album highlight – the pristine ‘Into The Night’, it is so hard to ignore the Talk Of The Town comparison.

The commercial ballad ‘Hold On’ is beautiful stuff, reminding me of Austrian AOR wonders FAHRENHEIT at their best. ‘Be There For You’ is a big fun sounding track – think TERRA NOVA’s ‘Come On’ from their 1997 album ‘Livin’ It Up’ and you’re in the zone.
Keyboard-driven fans will love ‘The Appearance’, the intro to ‘Feels Like The First Time’ (not the Foreigner song). The synth solo/sequence takes up a good minute and a half before the rest of the band kick in. And a lovely keyboard laced affair it is too.

‘Sometimes’ is full of punchy keyboard Pomp parps while the mid-tempo ‘Fire Still Burning’ could melt you with luscious melodies instead of pyromania-induced rock. The regular albums finishes up with the intense power-ballad ‘Deeper’, it’s lighters-in-the-air stuff, where atmospherics abound.

And then we have the also very good unreleased material, songs demoed for a second album that never was.
‘Juliette’ packs that so ’80s AOR punch similar to PUSH UK with synth flurries all over, ‘Boulevard Of Broken Dreams’ has a midtempo magic with keyboard stabs crating the atmosphere, ‘Watching You Sleeping’ is pretty melodic rock with nice clean guitars, while on ‘Take You Home’ the band sounds much more early ’90s, perhaps a hint of what would have been the second album

Without doubt this is a quality Pomp AOR album with all that mid-Eighties magic, and should be in your collection by automatic decree.
Awesome stuff! (contributors get the album today)

Only at 0dayrox


01 – Don’t Call Me Crazy
02 – Face To Face
03 – Into The Night
04 – Hold On
05 – Be There For You
06 – The Appearance (Intro) Feels Like The First Time
07 – Sometimes
08 – Fire’s Still Burning
09 – Deeper
10 – Juliette (Demo) [Bonus Track]
11 – Boulevard Of Broken Dreams (Demo) [Bonus Track]
12 – Watching You Sleeping (Demo) [Bonus Track]
13 – Take You Home (Demo) [Bonus Track]

Thorsten Neumann – lead and backing vocals
Jörg Schröder – guitars, backing vocals
Henning Reese – bass, backing vocals
Jochen Steinberg – drums
Sebastian Kinder – keys, backing vocals



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Barry McPhee says:

    What a wunnerful album, hope the bonus tracks are as good!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.