GLASGOW – Zero Four One +1 [AOR Heaven Limited Edition remaster] (2021) *EXCLUSIVE*

GLASGOW - Zero Four One +1 [AOR Heaven Limited Edition remaster] (2021) *EXCLUSIVE* full

Today we are posting in exclusive at 0dayrox a little gem: the just released limited edition to 500 of GLASGOW‘s 1987 album “Zero Four One”, digitally remastered and including as bonus track a previously unreleased on CD song.
This Scottish band from, well, Glasgow, released “Zero Four One” (being the telephone dialing code of the city back in the day) in 1987 with that magic sound from the era in Great Britain akin FM, VIRGINIA WOLF, GRAND PRIX, etc – catchy Melodic Rock with AOR keyboard flurries. Don Airey provide some his ivory wiz on a couple of tracks.
Much sought after for decades, this is a fantastic reissue of an album you need in your ’80s Melodic Rock / AOR collection.

Founded by guitarist Archie Dickson (ex WildCat, Heaven) in the early Eighties, the group recorded several demos with a hard rock sound but they never where part of the NWoBHM style.
Shortly after fellow Glaswegian band Heavy Pettin’, Glasgow put out a first vinyl single the same year on Neat Records. It sold well, by the band turned down an offer for a full album presumably waiting for a bigger label.
Then Glasgow released a 3-track EP on Clyde Records in 1984 as a promotional tool. They got great press and secured a production deal with Sonet Records. Minor Line-Up changes took place – enter drummer Paul McManus, brother of Mama’s Boys leader – before Kenny Denton (The Who, Status Quo) produced “Zero One Four“.

GLASGOW - Zero Four One +1 [AOR Heaven Limited Edition remaster] (2021) banner

Comprised with a catchy mixture of Melodic Hard Rock and AOR like the anthemic ‘We Will Rock’, the pompy ‘Under The Lights’, ‘Back On The Run’ or the energetic Chris Thompson cover ‘Secrets In The Dark’, Glasgow got everything to make it big.
Subsequently they toured where they could but unfortunately the band split after Sonet lost interest in rock music by the end of the decade.

A new line-up, prolific songwriting for another couple of years followed but Archie Dickson finally called it a day… until recently. There might be something in the making, and I hope these unreleased tracks see the light of day soon.
As bonus track, this AOR Heaven remastered reissue includes the 1988 standalone 7” single ‘Will You Be Mine’, even more AOR / keyboard-driven, a real pleasure for fans of the genre.
Limited to 500 copies… hurry up to get yours.

Only at 0dayrox


1987’s Zero Four One / Remastered
01 – We Will Rock
02 – Secrets In The Dark
03 – Back On The Run
04 – My Heart Is Running With The Dark
05 – Meet Me Halfway
06 – Under The Lights
07 – No More Lonely Nights
08 – Breakout
1988’s Standalone single (Bonus Track):
09 – Will You Be Mine

Michael Boyle – vocals
Archie Dickson – guitar
Neil Russell – bass
Paul McManus – drums
Gavin Povey – keyboards
Don Airey – keyboards



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.