THUNDER – Bang! [Expanded Edition] (2024) *HQ*

THUNDER - Bang! [Expanded Edition] (2024) *HQ* - full

British hard rockers THUNDER continues in 2024 with the expanded remastered reissues of their albums on both deluxe colored vinyl and digipak CD. Originally released in late 2008, “Bang!” is Thunder’s ninth studio album, and this Expanded Edition features fan favorites ‘On The Radio’ , ‘Carol Ann’ and ‘Stormwater’, as well as previously unreleased studio and bonus live tracks.
Thunder really have hit form on their past couple of albums and they have continued this onto ‘Bang!’ All songs bar one are written by guitarist Luke Morley and there are plenty of opportunities throughout the course of this record for him to let fly on his guitar.
This “Bang! [Expanded Edition]” is a worthwhile reissue as includes two good previously unreleased studio tracks from the same album sessions, plus unreleased live takes.

The album starts with a big, catchy anthem ‘On The Radio’ although with vocalist Danny Bowes shouting ‘f@ck you!’ just before the guitar solo you can guarantee this track hasn’t been played on the radio for sure! Mind you the lyric bemoans the fact that bands like Thunder never get any mainstream airplay.

‘Stormwater’ is another instant hard rock hit with some nice and heavy riffing forming the basis on the tune. ‘Carol Ann’ is great sing-a-long-a-Thunder and with its gang chorus and handclaps you just know this will be great when performed live.
‘Retribution’ brings the pace down nicely (‘Watching Over You’ is the other classic Thunder slow song on the album) and if you need more rock n’ roll just play ‘Candy Man’ and ‘Have Mercy’. ‘Turn Left At California’ is a bit of fun, acoustic tinged (almost Led Zep like!) with a fun lyric. ‘Honey’ rounds the album off on a high with more big guitar riffs.

“Bang! [Expanded Edition]” is another fine THUNDER effort with the band all firing on six musically.
Highly Recommended


01 – On The Radio
02 – Stormwater
03 – Carol Ann
04 – Retribution
05 – Candy Man
06 – Have Mercy
07 – Watching Over You
08 – Miracle Man
09 – Turn Left at California
10 – Love Sucks
11 – One Bullet
12 – Honey
13 – On the Radio (Live at Rock City Nottingham, 2008)
14 – Delilah (Live at Rock City Nottingham, 2007)
15 – See My Baby Walking
16 – I Believe (Missionary Position Version)

Danny Bowes – vocals
Luke Morley – guitar, backing vocals, production
Ben Matthews – guitar, keyboards
Chris Childs – bass
Gary “Harry” James – drums, percussion


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.