TED NUGENT – Ted Nugent +4 [Japan Limited Pressing remastered] (2018) *EXCLUSIVE*

TED NUGENT – State Of Shock [Culture Factory US remastered] full

More requested TED NUGENT, here’s the iconic self-titled debut as solo artist in its recent Japanese Limited Edition (already out of print), remastered and including bonus tracks.
“If it’s too loud, you’re too old!” declared the Nuge, as he destroyed eardrums across the globe on this, his solo debut. And it more than lived up to expectations. After carving out a niche with The Amboy Dukes, Nugent threw away all thoughts of subtlety and cranked it up louder than everything else.

This is a LP dripping with classic moments, from ‘Stranglehold’ to ‘Stormtroopin’ and ‘Motor City Madhouse’. No prisoners were taken, as Nugent set out to prove he was the craziest mutha ever to wield a Gibson Byrdland guitar in anger – and he was, too.
Love him or loathe him, Ted Nugent is a classic rock institution.

Ted first started making a name for himself in the ’60s as the guitar player for the Detroit-based Amboy Dukes. Like many bands of the era, the Dukes’ albums reflected revolutionary times with a head-spinning amalgam of blues rock, garage rock, psychedelia and even art rock, but enjoyed little mainstream success.
Their demise over the first half of the ‘70s was a painfully protracted process, driven as much by dwindling album sales as Nugent’s increasingly domineering ways and aversion to drugs and alcohol at a time when they went hand-in-hand with rock ‘n’ roll.

It was only a matter of time until he outgrew the Amboy Dukes and repositioned himself as a solo artist in 1975, a full decade into his career. What followed was a string of guitar-driven hard rock albums, backed by a relentless tour schedule that simultaneously transformed Nugent and his backing band into one of the top-grossing touring acts in the States for several years running.

After disintegrating the Amboy Dukes in the early ’70s, Ted Nugent finally decided to strike out on his own as a solo star. Even without a recording contract, Nugent toured constantly, built up a fervent following, and created a smoking hard rock quartet with the help of singer/guitarist Derek St. Holmes, bassist Rob Grange, and drummer Cliff Davies.

The band’s first release, “Ted Nugent”, is a prime slice of testosterone-heavy, raging, unapologetic rock & roll, and for may is considered Nugent’s best solo studio album.
While the grinding opening track, “Stranglehold,” stretches beyond eight minutes and contains several extended, fiery-hot guitar leads, it does not come off as your typical ’70s overindulgent fare — every single note counts, as Nugent wails away as if his life depended on it.

Other Nuge classics include “Motor City Madhouse,” plus the St. Holmes-sung “Hey Baby” and “Just What the Doctor Ordered,” all eventually becoming arena staples and making the band one of the late-’70s top concert draws.
Additional highlights are the unexpected breezy jazz ballad “You Make Me Feel Right at Home,” plus the untamed rockers “Stormtroopin'” and “Queen of the Forest.”

Nugent himself hails ‘Ted Nugent’ as his best work, and with good reason.
It’s an essential hard rock classic.


01 – Stranglehold
02 – Stormtroopin’
03 – Hey Baby
04 – Just What the Doctor Ordered
05 – Snakeskin Cowboys
06 – Motor City Madhouse
07 – Where Have You Been All My Life
08 – You Make Me Feel Right At Home
09 – Queen of the Forest
10 – Stormtroopin’ (Live)
11 – Just What the Doctor Ordered (Live)
12 – Motor City Madhouse (Live)
13 – Magic Party (Studio Outtake)

Derek St. Holmes – lead vocals, guitar
Ted Nugent – guitars, vocals (lead on track 6), percussion
Rob Grange – 8 & 8 bass guitar
Cliff Davies – drums, vibraphone, vocals (lead on track 8)
Additional musicians:
Steve McRay – keyboards
Brian Staffeld – percussion
Tom Werman – percussion, producer


Out Of Print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.