TED NUGENT – State Of Shock [Culture Factory remastered]

TED NUGENT – State Of Shock [Culture Factory remastered] full

It’s not easy to be a TED NUGENT fan but if you put aside his political views you have to admit the man made some amazing rock ’n’ roll music all over his career. His best albums have been requested here, and Nugent’s “State Of Shock” (his last Seventies studio record) better sounding reissue is this remastered Epic / Culture Factory USA recent release.

This is a very Limited Collectors Edition of only 2,000 copies remastered in high definition 24-bit / 96 kHz, USA manufactured in translucent forest green Vinyl LP featuring the original album label, printed inner sleeve, outer jacket, and spine folder (aka an OBI).

One of Ted Nugent’s more underrated albums, 1979’s “State Of Shock” closed a decade in which Nugent took his caveman persona to the top of the charts. It also proved to be one of the last albums the Nuge would issue for some time that resembled the raw and unrefined rock of his mid-’70s heyday.
In the next decade he would attempt to break the pop metal market, both solo and as a member of the all-star outfit Damn Yankees.

The album opens in scorching fashion thanks to galvanizing first single, ‘Paralyzed,’ which bore all of the familiar Gonzo trademarks and slithery slide guitars to boot. Not to be outdone, ensuing tracks such as the slow-boiling title cut, the provocative ‘Bite Down Hard,’ and the particularly vicious ‘Snake Charmer’ kept the high voltage rock and roll coming.

But here Uncle Ted started to try new things approaching to the mainstream market, with tracks such as ‘Take It or Leave It,’ ‘It Don’t Matter’ and ‘Satisfied’ in a more melodic vein.
There was also an unusually straight-faced ballad, ‘Alone’, which truth be told, was a great showcase for singer Charlie Huhn, and even a commercial, Cheap Trick-reminiscent paranoid pop-rocker;, ‘I Want to Tell You.’

Nugent and and his band carried on gamely promoting “State Of Shock” both on the road and in the media, throughout 1979 and well into 1980. After this album, Nugent had to wait to the end of the Eighties for massive success again, as part of Damn Yankees.

TED NUGENT – State Of Shock [Culture Factory remastered] disc

The ’80s wouldn’t treat Ted Nugent nearly as well as the ’70s did, but at least we can all agree that his legacy from the second half of that decade alone would be cause for incredible pride for most any artist. And as we’ve stated many times, to this very day there’s few things better to spend your money on than a ticket to one of Uncle Ted’s still-incendiary live shows.

If you are looking for a cool collectible that sounds far and away better than any CD release or your already worn original vinyl LP, then this new version is the one to own.
In some way, “State Of Shock” marks the end of an era; the guitar hero / stadium rock genre, giving room for more commercial, melodic rock sounds.
Kick ass, Rocking stuff


01 – Paralyzed
02 – Take It Or Leave It
03 – Alone
04 – It Don’t Matter
05 – State Of Shock
06 – I Want To Tell You
07 – Satisfied
08 – Bite Down Hard
09 – Snake Charmer
10 – Saddle Sore

Charlie Huhn – lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar
Ted Nugent – guitars, vocals, percussion
Walt Monaghan – bass
Cliff Davies – drums, backing vocals, producer
Leah Kilburn – backing vocals on track 3



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.